We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally ostrich place!”

Cape Point Ostrich Farm
Book In Advance
More Info
$126.17*
and up
Full-Day Cape Peninsula Sightseeing Tour from Cape Town
More Info
$349.59*
and up
Full-Day Private Cape Point Tour from Cape Town
More Info
$68.73*
and up
Cape Town City Pass including Two Oceans Aquarium and District Six Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Cape Point Ostrich Farm lies along one of the most beautiful drives from Cape Town to Cape Point. You are most welcome to join us on a guided tour of our breeding station. People who love quality leather will appreciate our wide selection of ostrich leather products. We have a wide variety of ostrich egg shells. Our small restaurant specializes in ostrich meat cosine. We look forward to your visit
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
1,936 reviews
1,100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,268 helpful votes
“Totally ostrich place!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

It is a home to many beautiful ostriches and a legendary smoke loving Elan. It is a nice place to stop and rest or grab a bite on the way to the Cape of Good Hope.. The most interesting is the store and the museum on premises. Somewhat expensive but certainly a place to buy nice souvenirs. Ostrich bags, suitcases, shoes from ostrich skin, feathers for the Rio style carnival, artistically adorned ostrich eggs etc. You will enjoy this short interesting stop.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank podrozniczka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    69
    34
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice gift shop”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

On a tour of the Cape area we stopped at the Ostrich Farm, looked at the birds and visited the gift shop. Very good selection of painted ostrich eggs and leather goods. Staff were friendly and helpful, and we found some very nice gift items to take home, a worthwhile stop on our tour.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really interesting facts and birds!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

we loved the baby ostriches! but we also liked the fact you got food and drinks free with you're experience great souvenirs and a great tour!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 373tiffany12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great ostrich burger”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stopped here after finishing the Cape Point Half Marathon. Had my first taste of ostrich with a burger that was juicy and delicious. Fed a breeding pair of ostriches and bought a decorated egg in their shop. Would have liked to spend more time in taking the tour.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KukiniSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice Stop on the Way to Cape Point...”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

It was fun to see the Ostriches--but when you feed them--they bite! Great for pix...

Afterwards we shopped inside and bought a few things that seemed reasonable, although they also have bags for $1,400 U.S. You can get belts, lipstick holders or wallets made out of ostrich at a decent price. The enclosed area featuring the "designer" babs are much higher.

However, I found out later on that most of the stores on the Waterfront carry the wame products at around the same prices, so if you can't make this stop--you can buy it at at least two stores at the mall entrance near the Victoria and Albert Hotel side...There are two stores there owned by the same person---they carry clothes and leather--easy to spot--when you enter the door make the first right--the first store is on the left and a few stores down on the right is the second store. I think one is called Usha or something like that.... They have nice quality and fair prices that can be negotiated with multiple purchases. If you are hungry--eat at Gibsons or Willoughbys in the mall at the waterfront--really good! And don't miss a visit to Mr. Cobbs--The barber on the second floor of the mall---it is a simply gorgeous store--very unique items....

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Point Ostrich Farm also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape Point Ostrich Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing