We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and perfect guest house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Braeside House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Braeside House
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Charming and perfect guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This house is amazing. It has even more oceanside charm than the pictures show, and the views of Cape Town are beautiful from the bay window. It's also in a great location for walking to restaurants in Green Point and Sea Point. We couldn't have been happier with our visit, and we'd love to stay at Braeside when we travel back to Cape Town!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey_Golden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Myself , my wife and two children stayed at Braeside House for three nights. It is very conviniently situated near the Cape Town stadium and Waterfront. As we went to see the Justin Bieber concert we were able to take a very pleasant walk to and from the stadium. The accomodation was very good with great views of Sea Point and Robben Island. My only gripe is that the apartment was only serviced on one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Big, nice and clean rooms near the city center. Marvelous Breakfast with large selection of Fruits, Cheese, Breads and succulent omelettes made by Catherine and Mike. Real good hospitality with a home away from home feeling and great value. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heinz I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

we spent five nights in the cozy loft apartment of braeside house and fell instantly in love with its warm charm! all the brown wood which is used as ceiling made us feel like being in Bilbo's hobbit whole. the bay view from the apartment is spectacular, you can even see it when lying down in bed.
for us this place felt like home instantly and after five nights it was quite hard to leave our "new" home!

- shopping possibilities are ok (good if you have a car)
- the neighbourhood around is save!
- walking distance to the Waterfront!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank williwieberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were recommended to stay in self-catering accommodation and were delighted with our 3 night stay at Braeside House in the Loft apartment. It was the perfect start to our holiday in Africa for 3 kiwis wanting to share. While my partner & I shared the bedroom, our friend was very comfortable on the bed in the lounge area, as we spent most of our limited time out and about exploring Cape Town. While we did not use the balcony to the rear, due to the cool winter season we were there, it gave the loft extra living space if needed and would be great in summer. As lofts go, it was very generous and had a spacious feel about it, once up the short but steep staircase. For 3 of us it was very comfortable - the lounging area infront of the big bay window gave a superb view across the Stadium green belt out to sea with Robben Is in the distance. It had a separate area for dining which was large enough to seat six easily if one wanted to entertain. What it didn't have was a view of Table Mountain but it did enjoy all-day sun so was naturally warm even though it was winter. We hired a car and while the narrow streets of the area were interesting to navigate being one-way in places, we were able to get off the street parking in the driveway of the property. This was very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I had business in Cape Town for August 2012 and I am so happy I chose to stay at Braeside House. I was looking for self-catering accommodation since a month of eating out at a hotel or restaurant for a whole month did not seem all that attractive and would have broken the bank.

I stayed in the main apartment. Very roomy, is designed to host four people. Flat screen DSTV allowed me to keep track of the news, watch the Olympics, and take in all the rugby and cricket you could ask for. Has a full kitchen and braai (BBQ grill) as well as clothes washer and dryer. The fireplace in one of the bedrooms is a nice touch and I made use of it a few times. There is also uncapped (unlimited) wireless internet, which was a feature that didn't seem common among Cape Town accommodations. The speed was not the same as I have had in the USA or in Western Europe, but was plenty fast to check my email and the news. Plus, there is off street parking, which is fantastic because Cape Town is a city where renting a car is a necessity.

Stuart, who owns the house, was attentive to my needs without being intrusive. The first week I was there the refrigerator stopped working--it was fixed within two days and in the meantime I could use another fridge in the house for my food. It was a quick response and he made sure my food was refrigerated, which I appreciated.

The apartment is within walking distance of several restaurants and pubs on the Main Road, Cape Town Stadium, and the V&A Waterfront (takes about 30 mins). There is a nice corner store (Clyde's) nearby for small purchases and newspapers.

I really enjoyed my month and Braeside and will look to stay there on my next visit to Cape Town.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stylish, excellent value for money, good location with views to the sea, well equipped: parking space, wifi, coffee machine, microwave, oven, dishwasher, clothes washer, hair dyer, DSTV, bathrobes.... but above all charming ambience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KabulPastryChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.0 mi away
Braeside Bed & Breakfast
Braeside Bed & Breakfast
#23 of 130 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Backpackers in Green Point
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 130 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ten on Joubert
Ten on Joubert
#73 of 130 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Never at Home Cape Town
Never at Home Cape Town
#9 of 130 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Point B Guest House
Point B Guest House
#57 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Glam Guesthouse
The Glam Guesthouse
#734 of 949 in Cape Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside House

Property: Braeside House
Address: 13 Braeside Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Braeside House 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Green Point Village on the North facing slope of Signal Hill and close to the centre of Cape Town, Braeside House has two comfortable, fully renovated self-catering apartments ideally located for leisure or business. Whilst very different in size and style, the fully furnished and equipped luxury apartments can each sleep up to 4 guests with a flexible configuration. With a common entrance lobby, they can also be easily combined to accommodate parties of up to 8 guests. Situated on the first and second floors, we are well secured for your peace of mind.The apartments have panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean, Robben Island, the Cape Town Stadium and Green Point Common. With full sun throughout the day at the front and a partly shaded balcony/courtyard facing Signal Hill - a National Park, both apartments have facilities for eating either in the dining area or 'al fresco.'The location is an ideal base from which to explore the many attractions of Cape Town and its surrounds. With all modern conveniences incorporated in a traditional Victorian house, your stay will be one of easy comfort and enjoyment. Self-catering accommodation with this much charm and style is rare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Braeside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeside House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing