We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very authentic!”
Review of Little Ethiopia

Little Ethiopia
Ranked #213 of 1,148 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Best of Ethiopian cuisine, prepared 100% in a traditional way so that you may experience the original taste of this internationally popular Eastern African food. Visit us at LITTLE ETHIOPIA RESTAURANT!!
Lilongwe, Malawi
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very authentic!”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

I have traveled to Ethiopia several times and love the food! I cannot get it often where I live so I never miss a chance. I went to Addis in Cape and thought the food was terrible. I walked past Little Ethiopia and thought I would try again. The only other people in this tiny restaurant were the family of the owners. The food was very decent and overall it felt like an authentic Ethiopian dining experience. A huge improvement.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank kaulick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    30
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tiny place with great flavor”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

My friend found this place thru TripAdvisor & thought we should try it since it had great reviews. We had a late lunch-early dinner & we had the place all to ourselves. My first time to eat Ethiopian food & to my surprise, it tasted great! The place is very tiny & quite clean. There's a sink where you can wash your hands before & after meals, you don't even have to go to the toilet to wash your hands, not unless you do something else.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilonggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Given its humble stature it was in out top 5 of restaurants we tried in our week in South Africa. Very cheap but also very filling.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank J0nG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

A tiny tiny restaurant on a side street, well worth the de-tour. Great price, wholesome tasty Ethiopian dishes!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ErikaCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Authentic food@ a good price”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I ate here a few days ago as I wanted to try Ethiopian food. It was very flavoursome but not overly filling. My only concern is the cleanliness of the place as you have to walk through the kitchen to reach the toilet. If they had a bigger space for kitchen, toilet etc it would be great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fangdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Ethiopia also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Little Ethiopia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing