We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it”
Review of Little Ethiopia

Little Ethiopia
Ranked #216 of 1,146 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Best of Ethiopian cuisine, prepared 100% in a traditional way so that you may experience the original taste of this internationally popular Eastern African food. Visit us at LITTLE ETHIOPIA RESTAURANT!!
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our first experience with ethiopian food and it was absolutely delicious. The prices were reasonable and it was adequate amount of food. The staff was lovely and would absolutely go back. I was hesitant to try this place but you won't be disappointed so try it!

Helpful?
4 Thank Traveldigger8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    30
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Definitely one of my favourite Cape Town restaurants...the food is delicious, and also a great place to take vegetarians!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah_CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Finally, after wanting to try the Little Ethiopia Restaurant I had dinner there with friends and what a total and absolutely wonderful experience.

Everything about this restaurant seemed genuine and authentic and not forced in any way. The dining area of the restaurant is mach box sized which with the help of the of the laid back and very kind hosts makes a very welcoming and fun atmosphere. We were also amazed by the little cast iron pot stove which is filled with coals and used to warm the room and roast and brew a potent cup of Ethiopian coffee.

We ordered various dishes which was served with plenty of injera ( a sort of fermented pan cake) on a large enamel dish. The food is eaten by hand and is varied, interesting and delicious and perfect for sharing. After the meal they served us another dish of salty and sweet popcorn which was actually really nice.

This place is an experience out of the ordinary and cost us less than R80 each. I will definitely be visiting again.

*one thing to remember is that if you would like to drink wine you should bring your own as they don't have a liquor license. Also quite a bonus as you get to take along your favorite wine.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CherryD83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun Little Find”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

It's tucked away, and such a great little find. Delicious food and good service. It doesn't look like a ton of food when it is served, but we couldn't finish it by the end!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The real thing”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Wonderful authentic Ethiopian food, absolutely simple and very affordable, We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at this tiny restaurant, and were glad we booked as it was completely full, there was even had a table out on the pavement with a little chiminea to keep the patrons warm. It is not licensed so you need to BYO.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wildish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Ethiopia also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Little Ethiopia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing