We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience!”
Review of Galbi Restaurant

Galbi Restaurant
Ranked #252 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Korean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique experience!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The restaurant is tucked away in a little mall that runs between Long street and Bloem road, in the heart of the mother city's nightlife hotspot. The whole roof is decked out with round chinese lanterns and the most interesting bronze piping - which turned out to be the extractor fans which move right down to almost cover the cooking area. The table has a hole in the middle into which they pop a container which has super hot fiery coles in it, and a grill goes over that. Your meat (fantastic selection of game and beef/ pork) is delivered raw to your table and the next thing you're sitting in the restarant with your own braai! Very unique, interesting experience. you get some seasoning, and a sesame oil to add flavour while you go at it. For 2 girls dining together it took a couple of tries before we got it cooked properly, but still good. and all the sides were delish as well! fresh veggies to crunch on! Only down side is that it gets VERY HOT at the table.. will go again in winter, with the bf, so he can do the braaing :) oh and the tables have buzzers on them so if you need anything you just buzz :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    28
    8
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

A wide selection of meats/ veggies/ dishes for the braai. Was really yummy - will definitely go again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elsabé V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grab your friends and go to Galbi”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I'm South African and my wife is Korean so of course before even going to Galbi we figured we'd love this place... and sure enough, we did! Being able to braai or BBQ your own meats/veges at your own table is a great experience in itself and in our opinion, is best shared with your mates. The menu's got a great blend of South African/Korean flavours yet has familiar tastes for those who are new to the cuisines, it's very reasonably priced, the staff are super nice, the vibe is cool and did we mention the food is ridiculously good? So if you and your friends are up for something different with the guarantee of it being a delicious and fun experience, get to Galbi.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjdutoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Different is better!!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Can't believe I just dicover this restaurant now. Fantastic mix of Corean cuisine made the south african way. You get your own braai (BBQ) at your table, and cook yourself a fantastic selection of already marinated sosaties, meat, skewers, etc... Perfect to share, excellent value for money, and such a great way to discover new tastes.
Definitely my favorite in town!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Concept, Fabulous Owner”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

After living in Korea for a couple of years, it is awesome to finally find a place that satisfies my Kimchi craving while still offering some awesome local fusions. Love the korean-south african fusion concept, loved the casual vibe and the owner was fabulous...would recommend this restaurant to anyone passing through Cape Town- a truly unique experience...Go Galbi!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amandella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galbi Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Galbi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing