We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great party”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dias Tavern

Dias Tavern
Ranked #67 of 1,142 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

A very fun filled place where the food and service are fantastic and the party carries on once you have finished. This isn't a quiet restaurant - its a must with friends. Generally there is a band playing while you eat.

Well known for their Espetada which is devine!!!!

Overall great waiters, fantastic food and a good party! It doesn't look very clean when you walk in and needs a new décor but it seems fine food wise :-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SJW79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    106
    13
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Down to earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Dias Tavern!!! Down to earth, simple and cosy. There is nothing special about the decor, but the food is great. Good value for money. The Portugese owners are always there to keep an eye on things, ensuring that the food is always consistantly great. Wheather you go there to watch a major sport event, or for a bit of a dance on the weekend, the atmosphere is wonderful. Always full of life. The kitchen is open from 11.30 am till 10.30pm, and on weekends the bar will stay open till 2 am. But closed on Sundays. Bookings are essential especially on Friday and Saturday evenings. All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vmadmigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food was Revolting - Lucky the Atmosphere was Good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I went for dinner at Dias Tavern with a group of friends because we had heard how great it was. Being at a Portuguese restaurant I thought a Prego Roll was the way forward. BIG MISTAKE. The steak was bland, over cooked and disappointing. The roll had obviously been sitting in the sauce for so long that it went completely soggy and I couldn't eat it. My boyfriend next to me had a similar experience with his steak roll; and I tasted the calamari which was equally as bad.

I realise Dias Tavern isn't a fine dining experience, and I wasn't expecting that, however to mess up a steak in South Africa - you have to really cook it badly.

.... saying that ... the atmosphere is great and perhaps next time will only go for a drink!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kimwillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
254 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Old school”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This spot has been going since 1988 and it caters for everyone. It is not fine dining and it doesn't pretend to be. It's a fun night out, probably best experienced in a group. The tables are in long rows, with red plastic chairs, red candles in glasses, plastic table mats and utensils rolled in a paper serviette. The crowd is lively; the band plays a mix of Michael Buble, Neil Diamond and good old sing along stuff. The food is Portuguese , so it's linefish, calamari, sardines, peri peri chicken and espetadas. The dessert is the old favourite Don Pedro's . We shared a generous salad and had trinchado and hake with calamari, with a delicious pile of chips. This is not gourmet food and maybe not your best meal ever, but its fun!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible & Rude service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

As described by ShaneVDV below we had a terrible experience at the Dias tavern.

We were the friends who arrived slightly late and were moved from table to table as the management had given away our parties tables.

We intended to drink at the tavern which by virtue of its name seems appropriate , but without even being offered a menu we were asked to not take a table if we weren't eating in a rude manner. We were made to sit far away from our friends who's birthday we had come to celebrate.

This poor accommodation of our needs caused us to leave far earlier than intended to find a better place to have our party leaving our bill at only R70 while we would have spent far more if they had lost their terrible attitude

The manager was condescending telling us that this wasn't a student haunt and when I told him we would never return he snakily said " yes you will!!" Particularly rude and unacceptable in my books.

The restaurant was chaotic, their head waiter rude and the manager even worse. The only redeeming quality was our waitress who apologized for their behavior .

It has left a sour taste in my mouth for the Dias tavern and possibly ruined our friends birthday

Don't go here if good service is important to you...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dias Tavern also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Dias Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing