We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do amazing tour”

Siviwe Township Tours
Ranked #21 of 331 Tours in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We specialize in eye-opening guided visits of Langa, Cape Town’s oldest township. You will learn about our culture, lifestyle, history, hopes and dreams and you will get the chance to interact with us locals along the way. The visit takes approximately 2-hours. Private tours are possible on request and can be tailored to suit your preferences. It's possible to use your own transport to get to the tour or have transport included. Safe parking is provided if you come with you own transport.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must do amazing tour”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I came to South Africa for our honeymoon and wanted to visit townships. After doing some research we came across Siviwe Tour -local tourism of Langa Township. I planned the tour all via email and they were very prompt and responding and very accommodating to what we wanted to do on our tour. We were paired with our guide Tando who is very personable and amazing! Not only was he very kind and friendly, he was very informative about Langa Township and really made us feel like a party of the community. Everyone in the community was very welcoming! We wanted to help the schools, so before the tour we went to the local grocery store Checkers and purchased school supplies for primary classrooms. The teachers really appreciated it and we were given the opportunity to meet and interact with the students! It was amazing! We walked through all the different neighbourhoods and it definitely was an eye opener on life. The children and families who had little welcomed us with bright smiles and laughter it was very touching. We had so much fun that we didn't realize how much time passed- a whole 3 1/2 hours. It was really amazing to see Langa Township as such a close community where everyone knows everyone and everyone helps one another. I find our world can be closed off to one another and we definitely need more close community lifestyle.

Thank you so much for the amazing tour!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Toronto_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    21
    1
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Grace and dignity”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

If you see a township from the outside grace and dignity would not be words that would come to your mind immediately but having spent two hours in the wonderful company of Nathi our tour guide and the people of lagar they are the only words I can use. Learning about their culture, their willingness to see a brighter future and their kindness towards us was amazing. We did a walking tour and we were welcomed every where we walked, we took sweets and biscuits with us, it was a pleasure to share with them, the smiles on the children's faces and their laughter will be a long held memory for me, as well as their poses for the camera and wanting to see themselves on camera too. We all felt comfortable and we too were soon smiling and having fun too, obviously living conditions by our standards are hard to comprehend but you come away thinking their understanding of community and family is placed and revered much higher than ours and in some ways they have got their prioritises in a better order than many more affluent communities. Great job Nathi thank you for sharing your life experience with us.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Niki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Very Memorable”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was one of our highlights of our two week trip to S.A. The van picked us up at our hotel. Restrooms at the community center are extremely clean. We bought artwork from the people at the center. The guide was very enthusiastic, well informed and organized. We felt very safe. We saw things and went into housing that I never thought I would experience except in a movie. The people were so friendly and upbeat despite the very trying circumstances that it was very humbling. The kids put on a dance show and they were so warm and nice it was really a moment to remember. We brought some school supplies and tennis balls but some individually wrapped candies would have been good. So overall it was very emotional-desperate poverty but inspiring human spirit. You won't regret spending an afternoon doing this.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank david999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Customised tour - brilliant”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I needed to show a group of people from an international phone company how and where South Africans buy phones. Siviwe arranged a customised tour of Langa for us. He completely understood what we wanted, and stopped people in the street so that we could talk to them about their phones. Our foreign visitors got what they wanted and were very happy, and we spent a very jolly morning meeting people and talking to them about technology. Highly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DebB528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss this tour”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We took a walking tour of Langa a couple of weeks ago. Our guide, Nathi, is from Langa and appeared to know everybody there. He did a great job of explaining township life, taking us to see the various types of housing and introducing us to the people living in each. He patiently answered all our questions even though he has undoubtedly heard them hundreds of times before. After two hours we came away struck by the difficulties that the people face there, but also with a feeling of hope that conditions can and will improve. Don't miss.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PJinTurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siviwe Township Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 

Been to Siviwe Township Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing