We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hidden away local resturant”
Review of Bombay Chilli

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bombay Chilli
Ranked #366 of 1,163 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hidden away local resturant”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is my favorite Indian restaurant in Cape Town. The restaurant is small and doesn't look like much but the food is epic. The locals know the food is good and it's busy. It's best to book ahead as it can be full from 7pm onwards. Otherwise come early or get take aways. I always have the lamb vindaloo and the peshawari naan.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
“Average Indian Food”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great name, I thought, so I decided to go. Unfortunately the tastes were pretty average and the price a little bit on the expensive side. The service was good. Wont hurry back though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graeme V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food indian food”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Rhe curries here are really good. The vindaloo nice and spicy. The only thing is that the price is not consistent with the portions. A bit pricy. Service is good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcussteak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Convenient but pricey”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I normally order either vindaloo, tikka masala or a saag/palak dish at Indian restaurants. When i walked in a saw a saag dish and it looked runny and creamy so unfortunately I didnt get to try it. I went for the vegetable curry and it was good but nothing special. My boyfriend got the vindaloo and it was nice but a little too vinegar tasting. The prices were very high and overall it was my least favorite indian restaurant. Living in muizenberg, this was a shame because I would have liked for it to be incredible.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbugs2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What an amazing restaurant !!”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

95 Keerom has to be experienced to be believed. From the minute you walk in the door until you leave this is truly a world class dining expierience. Superb food / presentation. Excellent choice of wines and attentive staff make you feel as if you are in Italy as opposed to Cape Town. The hands on involvement of Giorgio Nava owner / Master Chef truly make a difference. Try it. You will love it !!

Helpful?
1 Thank LesleySzabo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Chilli also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Bombay Chilli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing