We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi! ”
Review of 1890 House Sushi

1890 House Sushi
Ranked #178 of 1,169 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

I loved the won ton soup and the sushi. Lots of mayo is used on the sushi but there are quite a few varieties of options. Good prices too. Usually a reservation is needed - at least call the morning of.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank ChristineD32
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 112 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2016

Delicious, good service, good wine choices, great pricing. 3 hungry adults ordered three platters and a soup each and struggled to finish bountiful portions of fish. Friendly and efficient wait staff. Eat here- your will look forward to going back. I wish I could move them in total to America- but the $ 30 dinner would be $120 and not nearly as fresh or festive. My new must do when in CPT.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 17, 2016

I am a sushi fan. A massive huge sushi fan, and this place is phenomenal. 1890 as the meeting place for every catch up with friends and work colleagues every time. The staff although at first may seem abrupt, are super accommodating and work hard to make room for you, get your drinks and sushi out to you asap. Sushi train always has a great selection when you walk in. My fav!

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mon238
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 1, 2016 via mobile

I was a bit nervous when driving into the area but once inside the atmosphere was friendly and the sushi looked good.
The sushi was fresh and well priced.
I found the portions of there curries on the smaller side but they are priced accordingly.
Overall good value for money

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank 170anabelaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 3, 2016

1890's sushi is always beautifully made and presented, very reasonably priced and very, very fresh. The tuna is blood red, the salmon a bright coral - it really is delicious. The service is quick and friendly and everyone is happy to help (no one says they'll call 'your' waitress - they just get you what you need which I really like) I've never had a bad experience and I will keep going back.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lindsay_CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed 1890 House Sushi also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Green Point, Cape Town
 

Been to 1890 House Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.