We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful route with a great guide”

Hike Table Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hike Table Mountain is an owner-operated mountain guiding business specializing in hikes and climbs on Table Mountain and around Cape Point. A passion for nature and mountains coupled with a commitment to service excellence lies at the heartbeat of what we do, ensuring you get the ultimate mountain experience. Run by qualified, accredited, attentive and highly-experienced mountain guides. All hikes and climbs are customized to suit your level of fitness and sense of adventure. We are the only guiding company offering hikes up all routes on Table Mountain. Whether you are a first-time hiker or seasoned trekker, adrenalin junky or nature lover, we make sure you get the experience you are looking for.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful route with a great guide”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Not only did Riaan take us on an interesting route up with some moderate scrambling, but also provided great attention to everyone in a large group of mixed abilities.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank michaelmoulsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    9
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Table Mountain Hike with Riaan”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

If it's your first time hiking Table Mountain then Riann is the best guide possible. He has an encyclopedic knowledge of all the routes, wildlife and foliage. He ensures that everyone is safe when rock climbing with a harness. I was initially skeptical about using a guide since a few routes are well travelled. The route Riann took us on was less travelled, challenging and absolutely beautiful. Thanks Riann for introducing me to rock climbing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Niashab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best way up”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My son (age 11) and I hiked the India Venster route with Riaan and his team on 29 December 2013. Riaan was very helpful during the email booking process and was open with what to expect on the route.

Due to poor weather the previous day, and it being the busiest time of year, we had an unusually large group (20+), however with 3 guides spread among us and each taking time to speak to everyone it was much more personal than could otherwise have been. The route was also extremely busy and there were a few traffic jams in places, however I think this is very unusual and there were no excessive holdups. any bottlenecks were dealt with in good humour. The India Venster route follows the cable car line for part of the way and it was very satisfying to see people passing overhead, crammed into the cars trying to take in the views during their 5 minute ride, whereas we had plenty of time to soak up the surrounds and the fresh air.

We were lucky that the weather was perfect for our hike: no wind, cool in the morning and not a cloud in the sky. There are some steep scrambling sections on this route but they are very well guided and supervised by Riaan and his team, and those with less confidence had no trouble getting through, this all adding to the sense of achievement. All up it was about 4 hours to reach the table top (given the traffic and our large group), followed by a short queue for the cable car back down, in time for lunch.

Overall this was definitely one of the highlights of our trip, and my son's favourite experience of his Cape Town holiday. Having such professional and knowledgeable guides is worth every penny and I wouldn't hesitate to book with Riaan again in future.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graystea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best way to walk the mountain!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

In August 2013 we were lucky to have Warren as our guide up Table Mountain. We sniffed flowers, spotted orchids and chewed medicinal herbs along the way. There wasn't a plant or animal he didn't know. If you want to get away from the tourist groups with a competent, capable and funny guide, we can't recommend him and this company enough. Warren loves this mountain and his Cape Town home...and it rubs off on you.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RachaelandAndrewNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hike Table Mountain - Excellent Guide”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

A friend and I did the India Venster route with Riaan. Having a guide was worth every cent! Riaan was extremely knowledgeable about the mountain and its history and terrain. We felt extremely safe in his hands the whole way up the route, especially on the scrambling sections. For people unfamiliar with the mountain this route could be very difficult to navigate but Riaan made it an incredibly easy and enjoyable experience. He also accurately predicted the rapid change in weather and we were all fully prepared. I would highly recommend climbing the mountain with Riaan to get the most of the experience and breath-taking views.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ARG86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hike Table Mountain also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Hike Table Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing