We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guide for a challenging hike”

Hike Table Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hike Table Mountain is an owner-operated mountain guiding business specializing in hikes and climbs on Table Mountain and around Cape Point. A passion for nature and mountains coupled with a commitment to service excellence lies at the heartbeat of what we do, ensuring you get the ultimate mountain experience. Run by qualified, accredited, attentive and highly-experienced mountain guides. All hikes and climbs are customized to suit your level of fitness and sense of adventure. We are the only guiding company offering hikes up all routes on Table Mountain. Whether you are a first-time hiker or seasoned trekker, adrenalin junky or nature lover, we make sure you get the experience you are looking for.
West Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great guide for a challenging hike”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Riaan was a wonderful, friendly guide on our hike up the India Venster trail to the top of Table Mountain. I am definitely not comfortable with heights, but am always up for stubbornly pushing myself because I want to see everything in the best way possible. Being aware of that, he was ever present to provide encouragement. I always felt safe through the scrambles and narrow ledges with his attentiveness, even if I was a little nervous.

Truly a challenging trail with amazing views. Riaan did a great job of setting a pace that was right for everyone with enough rests and photo stops along the way.

We hiked up on the first day the cable car was back in service so we gratefully took the car back down!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Conshy_Casey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    9
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England
2 reviews
“Great adventure climbing Table Mountain”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Climbed Indian Venster with Riaan and our two 14 year olds. Its quite a challenging route in parts but Riaan made sure we went at a pace that suited everyone and ensured we all felt safe. Riaan was very friendly and made it a great experience. The weather was ideal and we ended up with some excellent photos, great memories and a proud sense of achievement for climbing Table Mountain.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tillecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great Day with Riaan”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been walking to The top and Back, because cable car was in maintenance. Via Indian venster uphill with 9 and 11 Year old kids. We all loved it. Great experience, save, Nice and very professional guide.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PetervantVerlaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This tour is not to be missed!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

What can I say? Riann is the essence of what constitutes the perfect tour guide: friendly, attentive, informative, organized, patient, and sympathetic to our panting breaths and sore bodies during the hike up! A group of 10 of us from Qatar hiked the Skelton Gorge to MacLear's Beacon with Riann and it was the highlight of our trip to SA. You will not be disappointed if you take this hike with Riann. The weather was perfect on the day of our hike which only added to the splendor and beauty of the trek. The views are stunning. The feeling so rewarding!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JamJams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a day!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Absolutely fantastic day was had discovering the hidden gems of Cape Point. Rian was a delight, gave us lots of interesting information and was perfectly happy taking it at our pace. Reliable and safe. Even managed to squeeze in seeing the penguins. Could not have asked for a better guide!! Hidden bonus he is a fantastic photographer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RhubarbSetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hike Table Mountain also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Hike Table Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing