We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience”

Hike Table Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hike Table Mountain is an owner-operated mountain guiding business specializing in hikes and climbs on Table Mountain and around Cape Point. A passion for nature and mountains coupled with a commitment to service excellence lies at the heartbeat of what we do, ensuring you get the ultimate mountain experience. Run by qualified, accredited, attentive and highly-experienced mountain guides. All hikes and climbs are customized to suit your level of fitness and sense of adventure. We are the only guiding company offering hikes up all routes on Table Mountain. Whether you are a first-time hiker or seasoned trekker, adrenalin junky or nature lover, we make sure you get the experience you are looking for.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Riann and his team are great. We had a great hike up and back...and he was flexible enough to work us in on New Years Day morning despite strong winds since we only had that day free and we really wanted to hike it. You get a great view from the top. Its a must do...and it is an easy enough climb almost anyone could do!

Helpful?
Thank Lars202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    9
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Riaan is the best”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I found Riaan online when we were planning our honeymoon this October. We booked him and it was worth every penny. Riaan knows the mountain like no other and made the experience unforgettable. He took his time teaching us about everything we saw along the way, and even took some great photos for us. I would recommend everyone hire Riaan if you plan to spend time hiking Table Mountain.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MMcKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Highlight of trip to Cape Town!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Riaan is a FANTASTIC guide - I think he could hike Table Mountain blindfolded if he had to - which is basically what we did since it was so foggy on our way up. However it cleared just in time and we enjoyed spectacular views of cape town at the summit. The cable car was closed that day due to wind (which I think happens quite often), so we were fortunate to have the summit all to ourselves. It felt like a great accomplishment and provided us with some amazing views of Cape Town - we really enjoyed ourselves! We did the easiest route up (Platteklip Gorge), which took us about 2 hours each way, it is pretty much straight up, so we definitely sweated a lot, but it was an easy hike from a technical point of view - no scrambling, etc. Riaan is great company and also took the effort to hand-draw a map of additional trails he recommends we do at other sites in South Africa during our trip - it was really kind of him! Definitely recommend doing this if you are in Cape Town - make sure to go early, we started at 6am and were very happy to have avoided the afternoon heat!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kristi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“India Venster hike with Riaan Vorster (http://www.hiketablemountain.co.za)”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Through Trip Advisor recommendations and reviews, found Riaan Vorster who takes on groups to do day hikes or rock climbing on Table Mountain. He is a owner of Hike Table Mountain and a local from Cape Town.

We chose the India Venster hike which is a 4-hour hike with some scrambling. We initially didn't understand scrambling but it is essentially an introduction to some form of rock climbing. Riaan is very experienced, attentive and knows every nook and cranny of Table Mountain. He also introduced to us to the flora and fauna of Table Mountain. It is however a very early hike with Riaan coming to pick us up from our hotel at 5 a.m. and we scaled Table Mountain close to 6 a.m. But an early climb is highly recommended as the sun and heat of Cape Town during summer can be really intolerable. An early hike provides some shade during the hike. We were also blessed with perfect weather as Cape Town can get misty up at Table Mountain. We have a perfect birds' eye view of entire Cape Town.

Highly recommended for those who are looking for some level of adventure. Some level of fitness is required though. All in all, it is a highlight for me to scale Table Mountain.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank phait_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turnhout
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wonderfull experience”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

despite my balance problems and lack of depth sight, Riaan took us step by step up the mountain , the walk/climb of the india venster was super !
Hiking up is a must-do experience and Riaan made it a real unforgettable experience !

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hike Table Mountain also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Hike Table Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing