We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lucky draw”
Review of Oxford House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oxford House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Warm welcome. very helpful staff. Extremely clean , calm and comfortable room. Oxford House perfectly suited our needs: close to restaurants and shops, ideally located.
We fully enjoyed our stay and will come back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vitry Audibert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, Manager at Oxford House, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are very happy that you had a great stay at Oxford House.

We hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards
Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 591 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed at Oxford House over the Argus weekend. This was a perfect venue for our stay as is was close to the start and finish of the cycle race.
We arrived late on the Friday evening but this was not a problem as the staff were waiting to show us our room and give us a very friendly welcome.
The room was extremely spacious and very clean and fresh. Bathroom is also very big with a huge shower and a bath.

Our room was A Slightly noisy room as you look down onto the road. However it is not at all a busy road so it was really not an issue.

They were very accommodating in allowing us to leave or bicycle downstairs.

There are great restaurants and shops within a very short walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Darryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, Manager at Oxford House, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you for your review and comments - it is much appreciated.

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Oxford House and hope to have you stay with us again.

Kind regards
Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My sister & I spent a weekend in Cape Town. We had the pleasure of staying at Oxford for an evening. Oxford is a quaint, sophisticated home away from away with comfortable furnishings. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nix2882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, Manager at Oxford House, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you had a wonderful time at Oxford and look forward to having you stay with us.

Kind regards
Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Good situation, good value for money. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms very clean and quiet. We appreciated being able to park the car just in front. We only spent 2 nights but will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 792Christine_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, Manager at Oxford House, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back at Oxford House for longer.

Kind regards
Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Excellent value for money. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Room was clean with lots of light and fresh air. The location was perfect - close to shops, malls, garages, entertainment.
I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Omar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, Manager at Oxford House, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for your review - I am glad you had a great stay at Oxford House.

We hope to have you back soon.

Kind regards
Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

A really pleasant stay in a centrally conveniant location. Rooms were spacious and well appointed and offered enough comforts for a short stay. Close to ICC and Waterfront- and security seemed adequate.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lionel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, Manager at Oxford House, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you had a pleasant stay at Oxford House and hope to have you back.

Kind regards
Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

When we were looking for places to stay in Cape Town, location was key for us to be able to easily get around the city. Unless you're on the waterfront (where prices are much higher), this location can't be beat. It's a 15 minute walk into the water front and you're next to a metro stop and many restaurants as well.

The room was well equipped with things for the kitchen if you want to make or store food. The room was large and the beds very comfortable. The only downside was that you can hear what is going on in reception from your room (perhaps depending on the room), so if there are people coming/going, it can get noisy.

Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, Manager at Oxford House, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We appreciate all your comments - I will ensure to monitor the noise level at the Reception, thank you.

We are glad you had a pleasant stay and hope to have you back at Oxford House.

Kind regards
Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.1 mi away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,057 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#50 of 110 in Cape Town Central
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#40 of 110 in Cape Town Central
606 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#57 of 110 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford House

Address: 4 Wessels Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $81 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centrally located and trendy area of Greenpoint, Oxford House offers well appointed modern Luxury Studio Apartments with kitchenette’s. The property is situated adjacent to the V&A Waterfront with its offering of many restaurants and shops. Oxford House is situated within a 12-minute walk from the Greenpoint Stadium where internationally acclaimed bands & stars regularly perform and a 5-minute walk from Cape Town Waterfront Harbour – From here, guests can make trips to Robben Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oxford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing