We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay in Cape Town”
Review of Oxford House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oxford House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We LOVED this place. It was newly renovated, had huge rooms and was very quiet despite the location near (but not on) a main road. The kitchen facilities meant that we could nip around the corner to Woolies and grab something to heat up in the microwave saving heaps. We were travelling with friends and they had the room next to ours and they were equally happy. We had outside areas/balconies and all comforts. The staff were extremely helpful with info and bookings for car hire etc. Highly recommend this guest house and will use again when next I have the pleasure of visiting Cape Town. The location was brilliant - short walk to the V&A waterfront and to the city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rovinsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 591 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

The room (number 6) was quite attractive (as shown in photos) but I arrived to my on curtain hanging unhooked. Surely they should check the room before a new guest arrives.... There was no soap or shampoo in the bathroom and there was a very small amount (in quite a big bottle) of handwash at the basin. The least that can be expected??? The shower also caused a big part of the bathroom to be splashed with water as there is no door / curtain and the open section faces the bathroom door.The thing that put me off and will ensure that i will never return is the fact that they took an imprint of my credit card, wrote the 3 digit security pin and made me sign the paper "to prove that I was there". I am not sure if they will use it, but I will be watching my bank transactions closely. An unneeded stress!!!! No lock up parking for your car either. A bit noisy but good location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoburgTraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This place has a reasonably good location (one can walk to the Waterfront), decent value for money, and very accessible parking. Very comfortable and quiet rooms. No breakfast service but a neat kitchenette is each room. Wifi is free and the connection is very good. All in all, they do the basics very well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Riko09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Thankyou for a wonderful overnight stay - service was efficient and friendly. Room was clean and beautifully decorated and comfortable. Large and airy and with all mod cons required for a visit to the city whether sightseeing, taking in a show or business. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very spacious rooms and very modern decorated, had a very pleasant stay, thank you
The only thing that bothers is when other people come in late at night the passage is a bit noisy

Overall marvellous, Thanks



  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hermina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Excellent place to stay. Big room, great location, very clean and educated staff. It isn't a hotel (there is no breakfast), but the room has fridge, microwave and kitchen stuff. Every day the clean lady will visit your room. Wi-fi is included.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank FranciscoBHMGBRAZIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just an overall great place to stay. A good spot around the corner from good morning coffee and breakfast at Vida e Cafe! Staff are very friendly and keen to assist. Rooms are really nicely made up and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.1 mi away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,057 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#50 of 110 in Cape Town Central
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#40 of 110 in Cape Town Central
606 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#57 of 110 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford House

Address: 4 Wessels Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $81 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centrally located and trendy area of Greenpoint, Oxford House offers well appointed modern Luxury Studio Apartments with kitchenette’s. The property is situated adjacent to the V&A Waterfront with its offering of many restaurants and shops. Oxford House is situated within a 12-minute walk from the Greenpoint Stadium where internationally acclaimed bands & stars regularly perform and a 5-minute walk from Cape Town Waterfront Harbour – From here, guests can make trips to Robben Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oxford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing