We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and great value for money”
Review of Oxford House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oxford House
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent and great value for money”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed for just one night at this hotel and was very surprised. It is extremely good value for money in a lovely central location. The rooms are very spacious, clean and modern. It is self-catering and, although I didn't use the catering facilities, they looked perfectly adequate.

My only comment would be that the open shower looks modern, but does allow water to go everywhere, but this is a minor detail in an otherwise brilliant small hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxi_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    198
    37
    10
    8
See reviews for
53
295
44
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Me, my husband and my parents stayed in this hotel for 7 nights in April 2012. Top location to just walk over the to the V&A waterfront to restaurants and shops. Just a 10 minute walk to V&A. The rooms are spacious, and feel completely new and clean. They all offer views of either the stadium or table mountain. Beds are very comfortable. Our room had a huge shower that could fit two. The owner, Ross, and the staff were all exceedingly friendly and helpful. Ross, helped us to book all the tours (safari, cape peninsula, cape winelands, cage diving). We had an enjoyable stay and would definitely recommend it.

Manoella R Teixeira - Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManoellaTeixeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

A nice sized room with a courtyard area, the room was pleasantly decorated and very clean. There was a small kitchenette area with microwave, kettle & fridge (door didn't close properly). There was plenty of storage space and a safe was available for use, very handy. The Primi Oxford is located within easy walking distance of the city centre and the V & A, there were plenty of cabs available whenever required but beware of being overcharged even on a metred cab (the metre is often turned off so the driver just seems to think of a fare!) The owner, Ross, and the staff were all exceedingly friendly and helpful, special thanks to Eunice for doing our laundry. Ross, helped us to rent a car but we do not recommend using this company (SF Car Rentals). Overall we had an enjoyable stay and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have access to a courtyard which is a real sun trap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie-PapaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed recently for 5 nights at the Primi Oxford House before setting off for a road trip along the Garden Route. We were so impressed we booked a further 2 nights on our return.

The rooms are very spacious with huge beds and air-con. Bathrooms are clean and bright.

Security is excellent with a 24 hour concierge who is also very helpful.

The owner and all the staff always had a smile and made our stay very memorable

Room Tip: All the rooms were excellent, the ground floor rooms share a secured patio area the 1st floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortsel, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This hostel is well situated near V&A waterfront (15 min walk) and the city center (16 min walk). The modern and comfy rooms are a joy to come "home" to. The owner is friendly and more then happy to help you in any way possible.
The only downside is that the rooms aren't well insulated but hey after a day in Cape Town and a nice bottle of wine you won't notice..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwjlaane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We truly were amazed at the good service we received at Primi Oxford House in Green Point, the room was macnificent And no expense was spared. Every detail was in place and the rooms are very large. There are just one negative, wifi proved a problem. They had full time security that checked on your safety and your car.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivanmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The rooms are very spacious, clean and modernly furnished. The kitchen is well equiped, so you can prepare your own meals. The location is excelent, although you have to walk about 700 m to the Waterfront. Be aware the parking is outside, although monitored by cameras. Overall, it's very good and we would recommend to friends if they're not willing to pay too much for a few days stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 109 in Cape Town Central
989 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
694 reviews
0.4 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford House

Property: Oxford House
Address: 4 Wessels Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centrally located and trendy area of Greenpoint, Oxford House offers well appointed modern Luxury Studio Apartments with kitchenette’s. The property is situated adjacent to the V&A Waterfront with its offering of many restaurants and shops. Oxford House is situated within a 12-minute walk from the Greenpoint Stadium where internationally acclaimed bands & stars regularly perform and a 5-minute walk from Cape Town Waterfront Harbour – From here, guests can make trips to Robben Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Oxford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing