We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Trip”
Review of Specialist Cape Tours - CLOSED

Specialist Cape Tours
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Memorable Trip”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were a family of 5 and our trip was in July 2013. We were referred to Jill by a previous client and we booked 3 days with her. We were thrilled with the service we received. She was able to cater to our specific requirements instead of being bus around with a number of other tourists on a strict routine and schedule. As the weather changed, we changed our itinerary to maximise the sites we wanted to see. She was very informative of the places we visited and we got a much better appreciation of Cape Town and the surrounding areas (with a lot less stress) then if we had tried to rent a car and drive around ourselves. We would highly recommend Jill (Specialist Cape Tours) to anyone planning a trip to Cape Town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SLJMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpecialistCapeTour, Owner at Specialist Cape Tours, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks SLJMG! It was a real pleasure to have you all here and share this lovely area with you. Your pre-trip planning stood you in good stead and I'm so pleased you saw so much despite some wintery weather. Come back soon - there's more to see! Take care and our best to you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had two days with Hein, Jill's husband in August 2012. He took us to the Karoo to a game reserve for a day as well as a day of whale watching in the area around Hermanus. Hein was a lovely gentleman to be with, the whole family talked with him all day on each trip about South Africa, Cape Town, the flora and fauna of South Africa (of which he was very knowledgeable), his life and anything else that took our fancy. He was very good with all of our kids (aged 15, 9 and 6) and none of them got bored even though both days were from sun up to sun set. Although we drove ourselves on other days to other places like Cape Point and The Cape Winelands, we think that we got far more out of our days with Hein. His personal attention was first class, as was his knowledge. We would give him 11/10 and would recommend him to anyone wanting to see a little more of South Africa.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TienandAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpecialistCapeTour, Owner at Specialist Cape Tours, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you Tien & Anna! So good of you to take time to comment on your days out with us. Hein enjoyed spending time with the family & we always love showing off the Cape to our visitors. It's such a pleasure to arrange trips for clients & to see how much they enjoy themselves. Can't wait to see you all again! Jill & Hein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Aussie visiting the cape”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Our guide Hienz was educational fun and honest. He picked the three of us up from our breakwater Pretoria hotel early to avoid traffic and took us on a amazing journey. He showed us everything he can think of he took time to stop as we are all photography enthusiasts we saw baboons rare birds different lookouts amazing scenery and just an overall informative tour he advised us of other things we can do and more bang for our buck he was patient with our questions as we're bursting with so many he made it very personal...even when we made him late to his afternoon tour we asked to cut ours short he refused and insisted we see everything penguins simonstown and many many beautiful things...

Definitely a must tour

Brilliant exposure

And overall class

We felt like we belonged and the tour was personal.

Next time I'm in Cape Town I will call this company again and possibly do a African tour across a few countries which is another of their specialties...

Danial,

Sydney Australia

Helpful?
Thank Northwestern09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpecialistCapeTour, Owner at Specialist Cape Tours, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Danial - thank you so much for telling us how much you enjoyed yourselves! Hein had a great time too as it's always so nice to take people out who are as enthusiastic and ready to explore as you were. So good of you to let us all know what a fun day you had, even though it was just booked the day before. We always try to fit in everyone's trips! Send us some of your lovely photos & come back & see us soon. Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Company, great experience”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We travelled to South Africa and spent 5 days in Cape Town. We were planning on renting a car and driving ourselves around, when we reconsidered very last-minute and decided to book 2 days with Specialist. The main reason we booked with them was Jill. We corresponded over email for a couple of days, and several messages, until everything was just right. Jill booked us a private tour for the winelands and Cape Point. Although I never got to meet her, her attention to detail and sense of humour made it an easy choice. Their prices are very competitive and when you consider the price of renting a car and gas money, it is not even worth it. The amount to information we got (and time to relax and enjoy the views) was probably worth double what we paid. Save yourself the countless hours trying to compare different tou

Our tour guide was Hein, Jill's husband, and it was like travelling around the country with a very knowledgable friend. He knows his stuff and all the cool little places to stop. if we drove ourselves, we never would have found our new favourite wine from La Petite Ferme (the tour there is a must!). We had wine tastings olive oils and cheese. We went to very old and very modern vineyards. Hein found us great places to eat with the best views. The best part was, we were never rushed and completely in control of our schedule based on his recommendations. So when were were blown away by the views at Cape Point, we were able to take our time there. . Save yourself the countless hours trying to compare different tour companies to find a balance of price and quality because Specialist Cape Tours offers the best of both of both worlds (great prices and very high quality...hard to find in this world today). Thank you Jill and Hein for making our time there so memorable

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank syks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpecialistCapeTour, Owner at Specialist Cape Tours, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Hi there! Thank you so much for posting a review for us. We do look forward to hearing from you after your trip. I'm so glad you had such a great time. We love taking our travellers out in this beautiful place & showing it off! Our travellers usually end up as friends & we look forward to sharing it with you again soon. We send our very best wishes to you both! Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Specialist Cape Tours is the best!”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Jill (owner) took our small group around Capetown and the surrounding area and we had the best time. Jill's deep knowledge of the history and folklore of the region was exceptional and certainly made the trip that much more interesting and memorable. There was a wide variety of activities and sites we wanted to do and see and Jill was accommodating for all of them. I would recommend Specialist Cape Tours to any group looking for professional and thoughtful guided tours with an expert at the wheel. Thank you Jill for a wonderful experience! - Barb

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Specialist Cape Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing