We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Company, great experience”
Review of Specialist Cape Tours - CLOSED

Specialist Cape Tours
Attraction details
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We travelled to South Africa and spent 5 days in Cape Town. We were planning on renting a car and driving ourselves around, when we reconsidered very last-minute and decided to book 2 days with Specialist. The main reason we booked with them was Jill. We corresponded over email for a couple of days, and several messages, until everything was just right. Jill booked us a private tour for the winelands and Cape Point. Although I never got to meet her, her attention to detail and sense of humour made it an easy choice. Their prices are very competitive and when you consider the price of renting a car and gas money, it is not even worth it. The amount to information we got (and time to relax and enjoy the views) was probably worth double what we paid. Save yourself the countless hours trying to compare different tou

Our tour guide was Hein, Jill's husband, and it was like travelling around the country with a very knowledgable friend. He knows his stuff and all the cool little places to stop. if we drove ourselves, we never would have found our new favourite wine from La Petite Ferme (the tour there is a must!). We had wine tastings olive oils and cheese. We went to very old and very modern vineyards. Hein found us great places to eat with the best views. The best part was, we were never rushed and completely in control of our schedule based on his recommendations. So when were were blown away by the views at Cape Point, we were able to take our time there. . Save yourself the countless hours trying to compare different tour companies to find a balance of price and quality because Specialist Cape Tours offers the best of both of both worlds (great prices and very high quality...hard to find in this world today). Thank you Jill and Hein for making our time there so memorable

Thank syks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpecialistCapeTour, Owner at Specialist Cape Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Hi there! Thank you so much for posting a review for us. We do look forward to hearing from you after your trip. I'm so glad you had such a great time. We love taking our travellers out in this beautiful place & showing it off! Our travellers usually end up as friends & we look forward to sharing it with you again soon. We send our very best wishes to you both! Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 16 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

Jill (owner) took our small group around Capetown and the surrounding area and we had the best time. Jill's deep knowledge of the history and folklore of the region was exceptional and certainly made the trip that much more interesting and memorable. There was a wide variety of activities and sites we wanted to do and see and Jill was accommodating for all of them. I would recommend Specialist Cape Tours to any group looking for professional and thoughtful guided tours with an expert at the wheel. Thank you Jill for a wonderful experience! - Barb

Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We had such a splendid experience with Jill as our guide in Capetown and surrounding area. With only two days available, she was able to guide us to all the important sites in and around Capetown as well as to the Cape of Good Hope, Boulders Bay and a great winery. Her insightful knowledge of all the places and skill at organizing such a well planned visit was well beyond expectations. She is a delightful person to be with and I would highly recommend her and her company. Of course this area itself is incredibly beautiful - and hope I shall have the opportunity to return.

Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpecialistCapeTour, Owner at Specialist Cape Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Thank you so much for writing a review for us! Hope all's well. And also hope to see you soon. Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Our group had only two days in Cape Town, and Specialist Cape Tours ensured that we made the most of it. We had listed a wide variety of activities and places we wanted to see. Jill ensured that we did everything on our bucket list - we enjoyed spectacular scenery from the tops of Table Mountain and Signal Hill, as well as on the Cape of Good Hope and Cape Point, but it didn't end there, we visited a winery, a penguin colony, enjoyed a delicious dinner at Gold Restaurant, and then shopped.

Throughout our time together Jill provided insight and knowledge about the sights, the scenery, Cape Town, and South Africa. We could not have asked for a better guide and look forward to coming back to Cape Town for a longer tour with Jill. Another reviewer mentioned that she would class Jill as a friend, and we agree. She is so personable and interesting, it was a real pleasure to spend time with her.

Thank Karen490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpecialistCapeTour, Owner at Specialist Cape Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Bless you! Thank you so much. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I have travelled with Specialist Cape tours on two occasions and would now class Jill (owner) as a friend. She is incredibly knowledgable and easy to travel with.

Jill knows the best places and times to visit. At Jill's suggestion we visited the elephants at Knysna early in the morning and were rewarded by being the only people there - a truly special experience.

We have travelled with other tour companies before but would always choose Specialist Cape tours for our future trips to South Africa.

If you want the personal touch with a British guide who knows her stuff I would recommend giving Jill a call.

Thank KateH39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Specialist Cape Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing