We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”

Dash Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #11 of 1,142 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dash is the restaurant and bar offering at the Queen Victoria Hotel, named after the Queen’s favourite pet. There is nothing cute about this space, however on the contrary it is the ultimate in sophisticated fine dining. The 36-seat Dash offers patrons an elegant yet relaxed experience with a touch of drama in the presentation of the well-crafted menu. The menu focuses on the unique flavours of each ingredient, which, except for the caviar, are all sourced locally.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

This place is truly excellent- service friendly, classy and very helpful. The food is some of the best we have eaten since being in South Africa. The starters were some of the best I've ever eaten- innovative and extremely tasty. It's not The cheapest place we have eaten in in South Africa but you get what you pay for and this place is totally worth it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Millie753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Dash Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Millie

Thanks for the wonderful feedback on your dining experience at Dash Restaurant. I'm glad to hear that you've enjoyed yourselves and that our chefs have managed to blow you away with their creativity. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to South Africa.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    78
    34
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
378 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“The best ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was the best I've ever had. I had seared Foie Gras and the fillet of beef and my wife had the crayfish confit and loin of Springbock, Oh! and I had Pimms jelly. Dash is a bit tricky to find being in the Queen Victoria Hotel which is at the back of the Commodore Hotel - don't give up this is well worth it.It was so good we went back for lunch prior to our flight back to the UK the next day. All the staff could not do any more for us.We will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brewersfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Dash Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Good day

Thanks for the stunning feedback on your dining experiences at Dash Restaurant. I'm very happy to hear that you've enjoyed your dinner and lunch with us - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new norcia Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Classy quality dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We read Trip advisor's reviews and enjoyed a great meal at Dash. I was rather concerned when I discovered it was situated in a hotel. Dont let that put you off. We were greeted and seated in lovely comfortable chairs in a small but intimate restaurant. Our lovely waitress Pridwe, was delightful and extremely knowledgeable about the menu. Glassware was of good quality and the wine list although not huge was reasonably priced and we particularly enjoyed the Iona sav blanc. We appreciated the tasty amuse bouche to start and then enjoyed foi gras or Caesar salad for starters - both delicious. The sorbets between courses cost 25R for 3 and were delicious but we thought 3 sorbets was too many. For mains - crayfish, lamb noisettes, scallops and fish were all beautifully presented and with great flavours. Only one of us could fit in dessert - liquorice maccaroons. Great espresso. We were thoroughly impressed by this quite, classy restaurant away from the madding crowds at the huge Waterfront restaurants. Quality rather than quantity.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank glentromie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Dash Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Good day

Thanks for the lovely review on your dining experience at Dash Restaurant. I'm very glad to hear that you've enjoyed the meal and the experience and we hope to welcome you back, next time you're in Cape Town.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service, a wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This really is a gem like everyone says. Set in a wonderful location with unrivalled views, this restaurant has to be up there with one of the best in SA. The staff are so friendly and talk you thought the menu. The food tastes and looks amazing. The chocolate fondant with orange ice cream is to die for. Cocktails are wonderful too

I would highly recommend this restaurant, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_and_Tom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Dash Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Good day

Thanks for the lovely recommendation. I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed yourselves at Dash Restaurant and that the food, service and views did not disappoint.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What an incredible find !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

We recently had the good fortune of stumbling across this Restaurant - situated in the Waterfront, but delightfully concealed from the hustle and bustle. We visited with some friends and had an incredible evening - the setting is peaceful with stunning views of Table Mountain; the menu is extensive, but not overwhelming and the quality of dining experience is up there with the best. I cannot recommend this restaurant more highly and I will certainly be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AshWews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Dash Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Good day

We always love to hear our guests' feedback. Thanks for the wonderful review, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dash Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Dash Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing