We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly a dramatic end to our holiday....”

Shosholoza Meyl Train
Attraction details
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Certainly a dramatic end to our holiday....”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

All was good until it broke down in the middle of the night, and was delayed by 8 hours..... and although we'd allowed 6 hours to get to the airport from Jo'burg station, we had to be offlifted from the train and driven at speed to catch our flight (along with a couple of other people). However, we can't fault the communication and importance placed upon that by the train manager etc. in ensuring we got there, and that our airline knew we were delayed.


That aside... the food was good, as was the service, everything was immaculately clean and all the check~in and payment matters went fine.

nota bene... deal directly with the train line and not an agent, and you don't need to pay until the day of departure.

Oh... and the view/scenery well worth it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jqqls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    52
    25
    17
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fraser, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A sad disappointment...”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband, sister-in-law and I took the ride from Johannesburg to Cape Town. What a letdown. The compartments were clean and decent, which was great. The toilet was kept fairly clean for the duration of the trip, which is something they can improve on. We were told that we would be served our meals in the 2nd sitting, which ended up with us eating dinner waaay past 9pm. This is a problem if you are used to eating early, and you have no other alternative available to you. The meals were nothing spectacular, but I have to compliment them on their Spinach soup! The crockery was mostly chipped, but at least clean. The staff wore faded and ill fitting uniforms, including the train manager, who did not even bother to brush his hair... Our train configuration had a bar, but it was not open. Why add a carriage if it is not in use? We agreed in the end that you get what you pay for. Even less actually. People should not be fooled by the glamour being advertised on their website, if you can, rather upgrade to one of the other private owned train operators.

Helpful?
1 Thank LunaLii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Train train train”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just arriving in Joburg on time. We left Cape Town Town yesterday morning. 2 berth sleeper, roomy & nice. Meals were good & plentiful. Morning cuppa in bed. Our bed was made up whilst we were at dinner, really nicely. Slept well. Water a bit short for a morning shower. The views coming out of Cape Town we spectacular - a slow travel through wonderful country side, beats the ain anyway, take the trip, sit back & enjoy the views, & the rest. It great.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank black2327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Maybe Worth Trying Once”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

**We did not travel on the Premiere Class, but rather the Shosholoza Meyl tourist class**

My wife and took the Shosholoza from Jo'burg to Cape Town in May 2012. We booked a two-person sleeper tourist class sleeper car. As expected the sleeper cars are fairly small, but manageable. Food is offered on the car for reasonable prices (fish and chips for R65), but don't expect it to be great. Also, if you travel in fall winter, expect the train to be very cold. Bundle up! Overall it was a quaint experience, but if we did it over again we would have just taken a plane.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jstewar9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

You need to check availability and times before you make a decision where to go.

Helpful?
2 Thank Highcliffe_House
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shosholoza Meyl Train also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Shosholoza Meyl Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing