We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the Real Cape Town Experience/History”

Footsteps to Freedom Tours
Ranked #68 of 331 Tours in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Footsteps to Freedom walking tour of the historic heart of Cape Town tells the story of Cape Town and its people. We use streets, buildings, monuments, memorials and the passing street-scene as props develop a story of Cape Town and South Africa's dramatic past. Stories of Dutch and British colonial rule, slavery and apartheid, and finally our peaceful transition to a real democracy.We gather before 10h30 (Mon-Sat) in the lobby of the Taj Cape Town Hotel, located in centre of Cape Town's cultural and historic precinct. At 10h30 the 2½ hr walking tour starts from the steps of the Bishop Robert Gray Memorial, adjacent Taj Cape Town hotel.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Get the Real Cape Town Experience/History”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This walking tour was fantastic! The hop on/hop off bus is a good for seeing Cape Town, but if you really want to see and learn about Cape Town, This tour is a must!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HSGKKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    5
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent informative Capetown, South Africa”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Garth Angus gave us an extremely interesting walking tour of downtown. His knowledge of history as well as current events of Capetown is presented in a very gripping fashion. He gave us a very insightful description of this part of world that is never presented in any formal education. I would recommend that anyone visiting the Capetown area should include his walking tour!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank syr43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cape town at its best”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was a fantastic two day tour of Cape Town and the scenic drive. Our guide was Garth Angus and he was exceptional. His knowledge of the Cape was extensive and impressive. His love for the city was clear and his historical narratives were wonderful. By the end of our trip we felt more like we were visiting an old friend who was delighted to show off his home town, rather than a tour guide dealing with tourists.
Don't pass up this tour, especially if your time in Cape Town is short. Most highly recommended!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank corbally27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth A, Owner at Footsteps to Freedom Tours, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hello Pat (I think this may be you?). We have been so fortunate will amazing weather this May (2013) ..... a "secret season" in Cape Town if ever there was one!

Touring with people who are interested and interesting is what makes my job such a pleasure. I can assure you that I enjoyed my two days with you as much as you enjoyed our time together. I am so lucky to get to meet wonderful people from all over the world who are travelers rather than "tourists" ..... people who challenge, share, laugh and inquire. Two days were too short ..... you still need to explore the Karoo, the Dakensberg mountains our quaint West Coast.

'till next time ........ ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I joined some friends from overseas who were visiting us on the tour of Cape Town with Dr Ivor Shaskolsky in March earlier this year. As a local person I loved the potted history of Cape Town and learned a lot about the local architechture and history of the city. More importantly my friends gained a much deeper insight into the history of the Cape and learned things which we locals take for granted and fail to explain properly to our guests. Dr Shaskolskys obvious passion for South Africa and Cape Town is infectious and inspiring. I highly recommend the tour to anyone, both local and visitor.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BinnyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliantly illuminating and sobering morning”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Ivor is a passionate and knowledgeable resident of Cape Town animatedly covering 120,000 years of history in a leisurely walk of two and a half hours in the city centre, much of it relates to the stormy events of his own lifetime. The old buildings are seen in a new way when you hear about their past and that of the people passing through them. Then he told us where we might have lunch. Excellent value

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Roofview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Footsteps to Freedom Tours also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Footsteps to Freedom Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing