We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most authentic Mexican food in Cape Town”
Review of El Burro

El Burro
Ranked #39 of 1,163 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Most authentic Mexican food in Cape Town”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Having been to this venue a few times I am never disappointed! Great food, the closest I've had to the real thing after a holiday in Mexico. The atmosphere is relaxed and vibey, the margaritas really good and a great variety of options on the menu. You can't go wrong here so give it a try and I'm sure it will become a regular option for a fun night out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    182
    36
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great vibe, Great food.”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Every time I go to El Burro I ask myself "why don't I come here more often"? The place has a great vibe - the music is chilled and you don't feel rushed to eat and disappear.

The food is really good - and good value for money.

Service can be better. Sometimes difficult to get the waiters attention through the noise.

Would I go back? Yes!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonySeifart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best find in Cape Town.”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Vibrant, tasty, friendly place. Entrance looks a little sketchy but don't be put off, this is a hidden gem. Have the burros.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellingbob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Never thought I'd go to Cape Town to have Mexican food, since I have numerous Mexican restaurants within minutes of my house. Excellent food and services!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank enrica3anatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nyom nom nom”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

El Burro was great! Nice vibe, devor, waitrons, food. Had ceviche starter (was enough for dinner) and horchata - an almond/rice milk drink YUM!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tessakerrichwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Burro also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to El Burro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing