We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Italian ”

Il Leone Mastrantonio
Ranked #63 of 1,323 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: During our recent visit to Cape Town, we ate at this restaurant on the strong recommendation from the owner of our hotel. He was right! Very good good, BYOB nad great staff and a very friendly efficnet waitress. great food...highly recommended
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a really nice and authentic dinner at Il Leone. Good confort food and nice ambiance. Had no reservation and although we were large group accommodates us quickly.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Susanabbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 746 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2019

As in any restaurant, the atmosphere makes the evening. Our food and wine were very good. Downside was group of eight young Americans that were exceeding boringly loud and chased most of us away before desert.

If you get the right crowd, the food and wine are very good.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Quaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2019 via mobile

Had dinner here on a Wednesday night. The restaurant was very busy but not full. Service was prompt, attentive and non-hovering. The server was helpful in explaining the dishes and catering to our special requests for substitutions and holding back certain ingredients. The buffaloto and tomato salad was fresh and with prime ingredients. The veal meatball appetizer was outstanding with a great sauce. The pasta dishes were well prepared, perfectly cooked pasta and generous amounts of sauce. The had very limited wine by the glass selection but the 2 we had (a Pinot noir and Chardonnay blend and a Sangiovese and barbera blend) were very good and complemented the food. I highly recommend Il Leone for a great dinner.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank mikexyz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019

A first class restaurant in every way. Great atmosphere, food and service. I recommend you book ahead and try the pasta dishes.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Mystictraveller1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I ate here on a recent visit to Cape Town. The food was quite good and the service was good as well. It’s located near Victoria Junction in a restored old building enhanced by some excellent art (for sale) decorating the walls.

If you need an “Italian Food Fix” you will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank H3740EQthomasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Leone Mastrantonio also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Il Leone Mastrantonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing