We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite pasta place and lovely staff”

Il Leone Mastrantonio
Ranked #33 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: During our recent visit to Cape Town, we ate at this restaurant on the strong recommendation from the owner of our hotel. He was right! Very good good, BYOB nad great staff and a very friendly efficnet waitress. great food...highly recommended
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Favourite pasta place and lovely staff”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We went there on a friday to have dinner. We got seated upstairs and were promptly served.

The waiter gave us a good introduction to the specials - which we also ordered. We had Seafood Spaghetti and Baby Prawn Linguine - both really good pasta, al dente cooked. Perfect, also the Special salad upfront was worth its money, rocket, avo and cherry tomatos.

As soon as we are back in CT - we will come again! Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia_St_0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    187
    61
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Nice restaurant with a very big menu but very average food. The restaurant is centrally located and has the potential to be a very good place to go but it is let down by very average food The service and staff were all very helpful and friendly. There are many better Italian restaurants in terms of food in a Cape Town

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 21Davids22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Our favourite pasta place in CT”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Lovely little place - great vibe and fantastic pasta...not to be missed! We especially loved the slow-cooked beef pasta.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ImiKof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Impromtu and delicous”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We'd heard that this was the place for Italian food and it was! We didn't have reservations, but just stopped in about 7 p.m. They were booked but we sat at the bar and had fantastic pasta. Bar is not very conducive to dining, so make a reservation. I want to go back!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJHigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in Cape Town”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I went to Il Leone on Boxing Day,
every where else in Cape Town was fully booked or closed.
Food was very tasty, well presented and delicious,
I had cantaloupe with ham as a starter and
seafood pasta as a main course, it was a beautiful pasta.
Our waitress was really friendly.
I've been a couple of times and I will go back, their food is lovely
and their service too.
I visit the restaurant with friends from Europe and they really love it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Leone Mastrantonio also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Il Leone Mastrantonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing