We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mrs Rabe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Mrs Rabe”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Outstanding service from the reception to restaurant staff. They made our stay a memorable one. We celebrated my husbands birthday and they truly made it a great occasion. Definitely one of our top ten Hotels.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Good morning Mrs Rabe,

I so glad to read that we feature in 1 of your top 10 hotels. Thank you for your complimentary feedback and it was only our pleasure to ensure your special occasion was a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    113
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
65
432
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks and must say it was one of the best experiences I have ever had staying in hotels around the world. The accommodation was comfortable, the ambience just wonderful and the staff exceptional. They made us feel very welcome and very much at home with impeccable service, professionalism and above all always with a smile. I would definitely stay at the Queen Victoria again and would highly recommend it for the perfect experience.
Anwar

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anwar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Good day Anwar B,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It was our pleasure to look after you during your time with us at Queen Victoria Hotel. The team sends their warm wishes.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Overall we enjoyed our time at the Queen Victoria. It's a beautiful hotel situated at the V&A Waterfront (but not right on top of the touristy craziness) and the price we got was just right. However, I think we expected a little more TLC given that it was the off-season and we'd mentioned it was our honeymoon.

Nothing huge went wrong, just little things: When we checked in, we were given a room right off the lobby/restaurant and parking lot, and were told we could come back the next day to ask about being moved. When we mentioned we'd be on a day-long tour the next day, the subject was dropped, and never brought up again. The location ended up being fine except for our last night, when there was a lot of noise in the lobby for an extended period of time. Another day, the maid had come to do turn-down service when we happened to be in the room getting ready for dinner. She said she'd come back, but never did. The hotel also had work done on its pipes while we were there, and one of the two sinks in our bathroom continued to produce brown water for the duration of our stay, no matter how long we ran it for (ew).

But the rooms are spacious, pretty and well-maintained, most of the staff members we encountered were quite nice and the breakfasts here and at the sister hotels were delicious! We'd likely stay here again and just hope the staff would then go the extra mile.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateinNY295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Good day KateinNY295,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and provide us with constructive feedback on your recent stay. I am glad to read that you enojoyed our breakfasts and spacious rooms. While we try our utmost to always accommodate all guest requests, this is sometimes unfortunately not possible. Your feedback with regards to turndown service has been addressed and remedial action taken.

We certainly hope to welcome you back again soon. On your next visit, please feel free to contact me at michaelv@queenvictoriahotel.co.za and I shall do my best to accommdate all your requests.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sompting, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here for five nights in July as we wanted a hotel in the V&A waterfront for convenience and ease of access to the city. We thought this was a really lovely hotel, food was excellent, fantastic breakfasts, the rooms are a good size - with enormous bathrooms.... great service from all hotel staff, who were helpful and courteous. Thank you everyone at Queen Victoria, we had a lovely time.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the V&A Waterfront then ask for a room above the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Good day Anita B,

Thank you for your complimentary feedback on your recent stay. I am glad that you were able to enjoy all that our lovely hotel has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel is right across the street from the bustling V & A Waterfront. The breakfasts are wonderful and we were able to go to the two other hotels across the courtyard and the street to try their breakfasts too.
The room was very nice, the bed was soft and the bathroom was huge. It was nice to have a separate room for the toilet, from the rest of the bathroom.
It's a small hotel, so the service was very personal.
The restaurant has a good selection of entrees with excellent service.
There is free wifi, which is a real bonus. Free slippers and a small dessert before bed.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor in a standard room, which was less expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzyquilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Good day Suzyquilts,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.


We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of our trip and another night mid way through. The hotel is in an excellent position being just beside the V&A waterfront yet set back on a slight rise, so you avoid any noise and crowds. The view of Table Mountain from the breakfast table is awesome. The rooms are superb - large bathrooms and well laid out, nice touches like sweets left at turn-down. Not all rooms have views, so if you want a view then ask and they will try to accommodate (but it may cost you more!). We found the staff very professional and helpful and Mike Vroom the Manager made sure any problems were sorted straight away. Door staff and security very helpful and a pleasure to talk to.

We had dinner in the Dash restaurant - excellent and I would recommend trying this. Breakfast is superb and the cooked breakfasts are a must.

Recommended, and certainly I would go here again.

Room Tip: Take the second floor (i.e. one above ground level) for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThatsMySunbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Good day ThatsMySunbed,

Thank you for your lovely review. It was only a pleasure looking after you and the family during your recent visits. I glad to that you enjoyed all that Queen Victoria Hotel and Dash had to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We could not have asked for anything more from this hotel. It was fantastic. The location was so central but amazingly quiet. The staff could not have been nicer or done more for us.

The hotel restaurant is a must - do not miss it. A brilliant young chef who pours his heart and soul into the food. Great wine list and if there were a Michelin grading in SA these guys would be top of the list. Amazing value also.

The pool area is stunning with great attention to service while lounging there and I cannot forget to mention the bathrooms. Double sized bath and shower with everything you could ever wish for provided.

If you are unsure about where to stay in Cape Town you should pick here. You will not be disappointed. We will be back on our next visit and look forward to it. Thank you for looking after us so well.

We cannot recommend this hotel

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. I have stayed here a few times and never been disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peach107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Good day Peach107,

Thank you for lovely review of your stay at the Queen VIctoria Hotel and your complimentary feedback about our staff and facilties.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,998 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel

Property: Queen Victoria Hotel
Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen Victoria Hotel is the newest addition to Newmark Hotel’s portfolio, which offers a myriad of ideally located upmarket hotels, other accommodation options and restaurants. What sets this unique five-star boutique hotel apart is the attention to detail given by the creative team responsible for its development, who achieved this through their unwavering passion for awe-inspiring design.From the creative brief of ‘where classic elegance meets contemporary design’, every effort has been made to ensure that the 35-room Queen Victoria Hotel is a haven of calm, luxury and understated opulence amongst the hustle and bustle of Cape Town’s popular V&A Waterfront.The interiors create an ambience of peaceful elegance, through the use of greys and taupes, marble-clad walls, crystal chandeliers, white marble and wooden parquet flooring, not to mention the triple-volume foyer with its dramatic white spiral staircase, glass lift and crystal chandeliers. The signature shade of deep purple has been employed to add a touch of regal eccentricity as an ode to the historic figure after whom the hotel is named.From the food and beverage offering at the hotel’s restaurant and bar, Dash, to the interior aesthetic, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies a sense of international flair fused with local flavour. The menu at Dash is structured around classic French cuisine, with all ingredients sourced locally and seasonally, while ninety per cent of the interior pieces were sourced from local design geniuses.With a management team and staff dedicated to making every guest feel like royalty, a stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel will certainly exceed your expectation of what five-star luxury should be like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing