We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Could do better”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Queen Victoria. Specifically, we wanted a very nice boutique hotel in a wonderful location. We got both. The hotel is understated in its elegance, simple yet tasteful.

Check in was good and friendly. We got a corner room, which was wonderful. Light pouring in from 2 sides, small balcony. Tasteful room. About 35-40 sqm. Nice bathroom.

Alas, not without problems.

The bathroom flooded after our first shower (which was nice, hot and powerful). Nearly slipped. Poor and wrongful installation of glass panels. Also, the glass door opened inwards rather than out, making entry and exit very difficult.

The main door had no tensioner / door closer for soft closing. So the door would bang (very very loudly) everytime it closed. And you had to exit fast or else the door would hit you. And god help you if you dont remove your fingers fast enough!

The light circuitry had no logic. One bedroom switch killed all the lights. Impossible for the person on the otherside to switch on his bedside light. Going to the toilet in the middle of the night was an act of terror in the darkness. Not knowing what was going on, on our first night, I had to call in the duty manager at 3am to help me work the lights, while my wife was asleep. He had difficulties and finally after working out the illogical logic, we could use the lights and finally use the bathroom in the middle of the night. What would happen in the event of an evacuation, I shudder to think!

These were little things that could have had major consequences on safety. We discussed these issues with hotel management. They carried out a half-baked emergency repair of the bathroom. The rest were issues of reengineering. Maybe it was our (bad) luck for these issues in our room.

However, barring the above, and our refusal to let these things bother us, we truly enjoyed our stay. In particular, we really admired the view of Table mountain with the sunrise reflecting of this magnificent work of nature. Right out from the balcony of our room and from the dining area. The hotel setting is wonderful.

Firstly, the people were very nice and very helpful. We felt they were genuine and the smiles not contrived. We were guided very thoroughly on our expeditions to the VA waterfront. I have never met door men so cheerful as those at Queen Victoria.

Second, the location. Quiet yet impossibly next to the buzz of the V&A waterfront.

Lastly, the room-service food was nice, and particularly the breakfasts were wonderful.

We hope the hotel can iron out the little bugs and make this hotel a wonderful institution that I think it can become.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PUO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Good day PUO,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that your enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy all that the Queen Victoria Hotel has to offer. Thank you for advising us on the "little bugs" we certainly will look into these to ensure we enchance our guest experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    115
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
65
440
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here for three nights during July 2014 at the end of our South African experience. We found the location excellent, within easy walking distance of the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront (lots of shops, hotels, museums and restaurants). Our luxuriously spacious, first floor room did not really have a view although it was facing the waterfront, we may have had a better view if we had been on the second floor (the top floor). The Table Mountain can be seen from the dining room and hotel bar area. Complimentary parking was on site. A plentiful and varied breakfast choice was offered, however we found the dinner menu not to our taste and so eat out each evening. Only 20 minutes drive from Cape Town international airport and 1.5 hours drive from Cape Point and the Cape of Good Hope. The doormen were always polite, friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetteW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Good day AnnetteW W,

Thank you for your complimentary feedback on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Our four-night stay at the Queen Victoria was a real treat for our time in Cape Town. From the moment we checked in, we felt welcomed and were impressed by what we found inside. The location is in a complex of old buildings that once were part of the seaport/wharf activities, but now house not only the QV, but also the smaller sister hotel, the Dock House. When I saw that we were booked into the "paraplegic" room, I had no idea what to expect, but apparently that designation was because it was on the first floor and quite large to be handicapped accessible. But that just meant we had plenty of room, and ease of access. (The only negative was the shower, which was quite large, but hard to manage and the door leaked.) And despite the fact that the room was right at the front near the entrance, a wall and plantings at the nice windows made it very private and it was quiet. We had booked transfers to/from the airport, which were on time and very good. When we needed taxis, those, too, were booked for us and were very reliable. But one of the best parts of this hotel is its location so close to the V and A waterfront and all the activities available there. Just an easy walk down a ramp/steps and across the street. We enjoyed the breakfasts and having a light snack from Dash with wine in the cozy lobby area one evening. Beautiful presentation and delicious. Also came to love the South African wines. All the little touches (lovely pitchers of water with fruit and flower arrangements in the lobby, goodies with turn-down in the evening), made this a very special hotel with a personal feel to the service. Good choice!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annesass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Good day annesass,

Thank your for your great review and complimentary feedback from your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that your enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This trip to Cape Town was a once in a lifetime trip for my husband and I. We booked this hotel out of the many we looked at due to the many excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. Much smaller than expected but that was fine, giving it a boutique hotel feel. Our check in was very attentive with Janus and even though we arrived early, we were shown promptly to our room. The lobby area was very nice and I loved the pitchers of water with fresh fruit infusion out for the guests. Our room was much smaller than expected and we could not move around each other without having to step to one side or another to give way. We finally figured out to move a long bench at the foot of the bed into the entry hall which gave us room to move around. After returning from a great afternoon on the waterfront where we bought some wine to take with us, I discovered that the wine glasses in our room were quite dirty with smears, dried wine spots and lipstick smudges on them both. I took them downstairs to try and get some CLEAN ones. The front desk apologized but didn't seem too concerned. Two clean wine glasses were sent to the room straightaway. I looked at the rest of the glassware in the room and it was all equally dirty. It made me look around more closely and the room just didn't seem as clean as it should be for the ratings it recieved and the price. Dash was amazing and we had dinner there 2 nights because we loved it so much. The wait staff were VERY good, especially Zameka, who took care of us both nights. Highly recommend the restaurant here. Breakfast was also very good. Beds very comfortable and linens divine.The biggest disappointment was discovering that some gourmet cheeses that we had purchased in wine country went missing from our mini-fridge. Not much of an explanation from the hotel when my husband emailed them about it. It was more disappointing because we had left a gratuity of R50 each day for our housekeeper. Wonderful wait and bar staff. Doormen always pleasant and welcoming. Front desk staff polite but a little haughty. Don't know if we would return.

Room Tip: We booked a deluxe room, going by the pictures online...very small. Views would be good from either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Good day Barb V,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed Dash Restaurant and the other elements of the Queen VIctoria Hotel. I am sincerely sorry that we did not provide the excellent hospitality experience we have become so well known for. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as this certainly assist us in our quest to always improve ourselves.

We certainly hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great hotel... Almost boutique style.

Very attentive staff, from management through to cleaning staff.

Worth every penny of our stay. Lovely little touches that make the difference... Everything from the strawberry water on tap in the foyer, the tasty little treats in your room every night the big friendly welcome and smile on the front door all go to make this THE place to stay in Cape Town.

THANK YOU FOR MAKING US SO WELCOME.

Room Tip: It makes no difference! It's just a great hotel all round!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Good day Mountinmad,

My team and I are glad to read that we are rated "The Place to stay in Cape Town" by you. It was our pleasure to have you staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We absolutely loved our 3 night stay here (partly because we got upgraded to the Presidential Suite) but more so because of the very attentive nature of the staff and the little details. From the strawberry/citrus/cucumber water in the foyer to the lovely little dessert treats on our bed each night to the wonderful breakfasts we had each morning at Dash Restaurant. We were also very grateful that the staff were so accommodating one evening when we were too tired to go out to eat, that they brought us food from their famous Dash Restaurant and even waited for us to finish our mains before bringing up the dessert.
The hotel itself isn't very big (only 2 floors) and quaint looking on the outside, however has completely modern facilities on the inside. The location on the V&A waterfront is unbeatable and a stone's throw away from a number of attractions as well as really good seafood restaurants. We're so glad we got to spend the first part of our honeymoon here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LottieYeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Good day LottieYeow,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on your time at the Queen Victoria Hotel. It was our pleasure to look after you on your honeymoon and make your stay in Cape Town a memorable one. I am certainly glad that you got to experience the wonders that Chef Sam and her team create at Dash Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We spent 4 nights in the Queen Victoria Hotel at the start of June this year and it proved to be a great place to stay for our trip. We'd just finished about 14 days of safari across Botswana and South Africa and we were looking for a well located and relaxing base in Cape Town.

First we have to thank Zara at reception for a warm welcome and then helping us with lots of different queries we had about things to do around Cape Town. Zara gave us some great suggestions for bars and restaurants both in town and on the waterfront and was always happy to spend some time talking to make sure we were getting what we were after. The rooms were nice with plenty of space and we had a fantastic view from the bed to Table Mountain as well as being able to see parts of the harbor. Not all rooms would share this view, so if that's important for you I'd ask in advance. The hotel was only small so never felt crowded which was great. Easy walk to the waterfront with all of its great restaurants and pubs as well as shopping if that's what you're interested in. It's also in a great spot if you like a jog with easy access to the waterfront boardwalk and then all the way along the beaches heading towards Camp's Bay. It was also an easy trip into the city, walking distance if you like to walk but also a very quick cab ride or very close to one of the stops for the red bus tours.

The breakfasts were great with plenty to chose from and views looking back up to table mountain.

Besides having lousy weather, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay in the Queen Victoria Hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenpdaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Good day stephenpdaly,

Than you for your lovely review on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy all that Cape Town has to offer. Zara send your best regards.


We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House

Property: Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House is a luxuriously appointed, deluxe boutique hotel in the Portswood Ridge Precinct in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town. The hotel not only encapsulates the luxurious style and attention to detail that defines small, luxury retreats around the world but also enjoys a unique location. The hotel has 35 luxurious rooms and suites, including a presidential suite with a generous terrace for al fresco entertaining. From the food and beverage offering at Dash, the hotel’s restaurant and cocktail bar, to the interior aesthetics, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies exquisite international flair that is fused with local flavour. The Manor House is adjacent to the Queen Victoria Hotel - and is a butler-serviced 4 suite boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing