We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel
Ranked #14 of 108 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

A very well run hotel that's a stone throw from the V&A.
Close enough, but also away from the noise as you get the dock side hotel and the Springbok museum blocking the noise from the weekend waterfront crowd.

Rooms are clean and comfortable, deservingly of a 5 star rating.

During my stay, wife decided to get the hotel's staff to assist in getting a surprise cake whilst we were our for my birthday dinner and they duly complied and left well wishes in the room as well!

Kudos to the team at the Queen Victoria hotel!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Good day George L,

Thank you for your complimentary feedback on your recent stay with us. We do hope that you had a wonderful birthday celebration while in Cape Town and at the Queen Victoria Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    111
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
65
426
16
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We had a great stay. The hotel was great and fabulous. Staff were very very friendly and useful (really), they went extra mile to help us and make our stay great.
They gave us an upgrade and the room was amazing, comfortable, great bathroom and tub, and the room had a view of the table mountain. Breakfast was very very good with alot of options, we liked it.
The location was great, 2 minutes walking to the waterfront.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hietham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Good day Hietham,

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Queen Victoria Hotel. Thank you for your complimentary feedback regarding our staff, facilities and restuarant as we certainly try to go the extra mile for all our guests.

We hope to welcome you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Friendly staff. Good service. Good quality. restuarant menu might not be to every one's liking and is limited. Not too many TV channels in the room however adequate.
Price / Quality wise a bit on the high side. The V&A Hotel across the road belongs to the same group has same service etc. but significantly cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Good day Rob B,

Thank you for your feedback regarding you recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to welcome you back again soon to either the Queen Victoria or Victoria and Alfred hotels to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Mike Vroom is an amazing manager. I could see him go all out to take care of all his guests. The rooms have been designed ergonomically and the bathrooms are very large. I loved the fact that the windows could be opened.
Andrew at the Bar was outstanding. QV has some nice, elegant and classy staff. Not to mention the quality of food. The food was awesome.
My only complaint is the fact that they used Corean to build such a nice spiral staircase.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Good day Georgy J,

Thank you for your great feedback after your recent stay with us. It was our pleasure to look after you and I am glad the QV team were able to leave such a great impression.

I certainly hope to welcome you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2014

When we made reservations through a third party we understood we would be staying at the Victoria and Alfred Hotel right on the waterfront with a waterfront view. It turns out we were booked at the Queen Victoria Hotel very close by instead. The person helping us at the reservation desk assured us we were "upgraded" to the Queen Victoria but I really do not know if it was indeed an upgrade. Rather than a view of the waterfront we had a view of the parking courtyard which may have been the fault of the third party booking us - I never did get that figured out. The bigger problem was the room smelled of sewer gas when we first walked in. The bell hop noticed it too and he immediately sent a maintenance person who arrived with a plunger and he began to work in the bathroom. The smell did not go away but we only smelled it when we first walked in so we tolerated it. I was surprised that management did not contact us to see if the problem was resolved. The room was otherwise clean and very quiet and every night we got a good nights sleep so overall it was a good stay. The hotel restaurant was delightful with both excellent food and service. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay at this hotel again as the location near the waterfront is excellent. Oh, the breakfast buffet every morning was also excellent.

Room Tip: Our room over the parking courtyard did not have a view but it was very quiet with virtually no stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Good day Kerri D,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed Dash restaurant and the breakfast offering in the morning. Thank you for advising us regarding the smell, this has been addressed and rectified.

We hope to welcome you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I have just returned from a stay at the Queen Victoria and words cannot sum up my experience. This hotel knocks it out of the ball park in terms of service, personal attention, comfort, location, amenities, and the views!

I stayed at its sister property (Victoria and Alfred Hotel) on my previous visit, and have to say that the Queen Victoria is just so much better and more! Where do I begin...very smooth check-in. Zara was just so helpful. I walked into my room and was blown away. The space, design, views of table mountain and the bathroom. So luxurious and comfortable. Really nice touch was that the bathroom floors are heated. During this time of the year, it was lovely to have that warmth when walking intot the bathroom. The products were great -- Charlotte Rhys amenities, with everything provided including bath salts and foaming bath.

The bed was super comfortable, and the room was service twice/day. You really feel special when you stay here. Dash restaurant is fantastic. The entire team at the restaurant felt like family by the second day and the food was just outstanding. Make sure you have the fillet here as well as the tempura prawns at dinner. Breakfast was a mix of buffet and hot food that could be ordered. Everything was outstanding!

Mike (Manager) was so visible and always there to make sure everything was running smoothly. Zaid (not sure if I am spelling his name correctly) and his collegaue (blanking on his name) who were at the reception on most evenings I was at the hotel are just exceptional members of the team!

The location is absolutely perfect. On the V&A waterfront, but just the right distance away from all the crowds. Easy access to CBD, Sea Point, Table Mountain and all other parts of this absolutely amazing city (I am madly in love with it!). There is also a gym on site...lovely to run on a treadmill or do weights and have the Table Mountain right in front of you! There is also a spa, which I did not have an opportunity to use. But, looked like they had a great range of services.

I will be back again soon, and the Queen Victoria has just become my new base in Cape Town. Thank you to the entire team for just an exceptional experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barca212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Good day barca212,

Thank you for your great feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad you were able to enjoy all that the Queen Victoria has to offer and that myself and the team were able to leave a lasting impression. Zara, Jaid and the rest of the team send their regards.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Was a pleasure and an experience to be in such a special hotel, very personal, friendly, upper most quality amenities, and location.....incredible! Its not cheap, but value for money is brilliant. Highly highly recommend it! The only downside is that at one point i must leave!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Deian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Good morning Deian J,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Queen Victoria Hotel. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and didnt want to to leave.

We hope to welcome you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel

Property: Queen Victoria Hotel
Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen Victoria Hotel is the newest addition to Newmark Hotel’s portfolio, which offers a myriad of ideally located upmarket hotels, other accommodation options and restaurants. What sets this unique five-star boutique hotel apart is the attention to detail given by the creative team responsible for its development, who achieved this through their unwavering passion for awe-inspiring design.From the creative brief of ‘where classic elegance meets contemporary design’, every effort has been made to ensure that the 35-room Queen Victoria Hotel is a haven of calm, luxury and understated opulence amongst the hustle and bustle of Cape Town’s popular V&A Waterfront.The interiors create an ambience of peaceful elegance, through the use of greys and taupes, marble-clad walls, crystal chandeliers, white marble and wooden parquet flooring, not to mention the triple-volume foyer with its dramatic white spiral staircase, glass lift and crystal chandeliers. The signature shade of deep purple has been employed to add a touch of regal eccentricity as an ode to the historic figure after whom the hotel is named.From the food and beverage offering at the hotel’s restaurant and bar, Dash, to the interior aesthetic, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies a sense of international flair fused with local flavour. The menu at Dash is structured around classic French cuisine, with all ingredients sourced locally and seasonally, while ninety per cent of the interior pieces were sourced from local design geniuses.With a management team and staff dedicated to making every guest feel like royalty, a stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel will certainly exceed your expectation of what five-star luxury should be like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing