We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Ranked #14 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Don't think twice about booking this wonderful hotel, perfectly situated on the waterfront in Capetown. This was our first visit to this wonderful part of Africa and the Queen Victoria Hotel provided a calm, elegant and tranquil oasis from the bustle of the many tourist attractions nearby. The decor was fabulous and the staff where charming. Breakfast selection which is included in the price was vast and varied and more than enough to set you up for the day. Loved every moment of the short time that we spent there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank GaynorB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Good day GaynorB B,

My team and I are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we are grateful for your positive review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your first trip to our beautiful part of Africa and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 719 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

First of all the staff, they were great! Always helpful, professional and smiling, I cannot say enough about how great the staff was, Admire the breakfast captian was a pleasure. Our room was a sanctuary, and the turn down treats were delicious! We did not want to leave however we will be back. We did get to enjoy the spa, saving something for our next visit.

Room Tip: Make time for the pool, so relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MadamDie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Good day MadamDie,

Thank you for your complimentary feedback on our staff and facilties. I am glad to hear that Admire left a lasting impression on you and our team on young dynamic chefs were able to tantalize your tastebuds with their turndown treats.

We hope to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

I am so happy we tried this hotel. It will be my first choice for one night stays in Cape Town. The bathroom is especially nice and big. Love the decor. Great breakfast and location. Good bed and linen.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irma48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Good day Irma48,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are now your preferred hotel of choice when travelling to Cape Town. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights, every thing was just right, excellent check in and escorting to our room, suburb breakfast, very reasonably priced drinks at the bar.

Great location, easy to get to the water front and attractions.

All up highly recommend and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Good day CocoTampa123,

Thank you very much for your kind words of appreciation. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This was our second time in the Queen Victoria Hotel and it was fantastic both times. The hotel is just across the street from the V&A Waterfront with all of its restaurants, bars, shops and activities. The hotel booked a couple of tours for us this time as well. We really enjoyed the Cape Point and
Cape Winelands tours and our guides were very knowledgeable.

The Queen Victoria hotel is small and the service is very personal. The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable and they have a very nice breakfast. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the Waterfront area of Cape Town.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and you either have a view of the mountain or of the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey_R_Henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeVroom, Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Good day Jeffrey_R_Henry,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this wonderful review in respect of your stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. Your complementary remarks regarding the staff, service and facilities are greatly appreciated!

We hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards,
Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed in this beautiful 5* hotel for 2 nights on our final leg of our 8 days stay in and around Cape Town - we were kindly & happily upgraded from V&A Hotel on arrival. The location is right on the Waterfront, perched up on a small hill, giving the hotel some peace and quiet.

Our corner Suite was enormous, we had the view of the Table Mountain, and the service was and is superb - concierge booked our trip to Robben Island from here in 5 mins - took advantage of the small but efficient Spa next door which my wife loved for her scrub & massage (in her opinion better than the 12 Apostle Hotel? which I preferred), and overall the staff were extremely friendly and helpful in every possible way. Love the touch of chilled water with fresh fruit at the lobby - and a good breakfast to start the day off.

Room Tip: The hotel has complimentary parking so it was very convenient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueTak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeVroom, Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Good day BlueTak,

Thank you for reviewing the Queen Victoria Hotel and for your complimentary feedback our staff and spa facilities. I am glad to see that you throughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I can honestly say this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in ( and I've been privileged to stay in a few over the years)
The bathroom was big, 'cool' design, huge shower and deep bath.
Big bedroom, well laid out. Super high cotton count sheets.
Public areas stylish. Location, next to the Waterfront.
Staff excellent, friendly and helpful
Maybe my poached egg could have been a little softer, but that was about it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikBTanzania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeVroom, Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Good day NikBTanzania,

Thank you for your lovely feedback on our facilities and staff. Im glad to hear that we rate as 1 of the best hotels you have stayed at.

We look forward to welcoming,

Best regards,
Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,075 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,761 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House

Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $391 - $884 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House is a luxuriously appointed, deluxe boutique hotel in the Portswood Ridge Precinct in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town. The hotel not only encapsulates the luxurious style and attention to detail that defines small, luxury retreats around the world but also enjoys a unique location. The hotel has 35 luxurious rooms and suites, including a presidential suite with a generous terrace for al fresco entertaining. From the food and beverage offering at Dash, the hotel’s restaurant and cocktail bar, to the interior aesthetics, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies exquisite international flair that is fused with local flavour. The Manor House is adjacent to the Queen Victoria Hotel - and is a butler-serviced 4 suite boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing