We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have just stayed 3 nights in the Queen Victoria Hotel in Cape Town. What a great hotel, the staff are all wonderful, and the location is perfect for the Waterfront. We are so pleased we chose this hotel.
Thanks for the amazing birthday cake and champagne presented to me on my 50th birthday...Ive never seen a cake like it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Builthblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Good day

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. I'm glad to hear that we could make your birthday a special one!

We hope to welcome you back to the Queen Victoria Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    113
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
65
432
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aventura, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We recently stayed at the Queen Victoria Hotel during our Honeymoon which is perfectly situated in the middle of the V&A Waterfront, which is prime location to restaurants, shopping and site seeing. The boutique hotel was a very modern and elegant. The rooms were beautifully decorated and very warm and cozy. In addition the rooms are well equipped with what you needed. I highly recommend the hotel, the only short comings and very short at that, is the service and concierge. I think it is just a young hotel that needs to grow its staff into more knowledge of the luxury hotel service requirements for its guests. With that being said I would do it all over again staying there without a second thought.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Melissa

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. This gives me the opportunity to monitor our service to you, the guest. I also appreciate your feedback with regards to the service and concierge as we always aim to improve and to deliver only the highest quality of service to our guests.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Queen Victoria Hotel is a lovely, quiet, small luxury hotel just above the waterfront area. A 5 minute walk to the aquarium, the V & A shops and restaurants and the ferry to Robben Island. The staff is very helpful and extremely pleasant. Rooms are comfortable and well equipped, and the bathroom is huge - tub, shower, double sinks. This was our first stop after 20 hours of travel, and the room service dinner was excellent. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Travelaccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Good day

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. I'm very happy to hear that you liked the location and found the food to be excellent. We hope to welcome you back to QV again someday soon!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, NY
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights for our anniversary. They had champagne and chocolates for us. the rooms were lovely. They bring chocolates at night. The breakfast was fantastic. We did have a problem with the room, it had no heat. So they ended up upgrading us to a junior suite which made out stay even more special. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCookie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Good day

Thanks for the lovely feedback, I'm glad to hear that the staff at the Queen Victoria Hotel could assist in making your anniversary a special one. We hope to welcome you back to Queen Victoria Hotel on your next visit to South Africa.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Absolutely wonderful, from the minute we walked in the door. The staff were very professional, but so friendly and helpful for first time visitors to Cape Town. Perfectly situated for the V&A Waterfront's shopping and restaurants. The beds were the most comfortable we've ever slept in (I wanted to stay forever!). Our room was beautifully decorated, up there with Hong Kong's Peninsula for comfort and elegance (yes, we have stayed there). Breakfasts were superb, a great choice for either cooked or continental. Excellent value and would definitely stay if ever lucky enough to visit Cape Town again - just wish it was closer to Australia. Have been singing QV's praises to everyone and have told my travel agent how great our stay was. We loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Marg & Dennis

Thank you very much for this stunning review on your recent stay at Queen Victoria Hotel. I'm glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay and that the staff at QV were so friendly and helpful. I hope you'll be able to make your way to Cape Town again soon and allow us to host you once again!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Not the largest breakfast but location, cleanliness and service make it all worth it. Rooms are well kept. The staff was incredibly helpful. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking in the waterfront area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwenzofsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Good day

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Thanks for the complimentary remarks regarding our facilities and services.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a great couple of nights at the Queen Vic. Rooms are very spacious and the position within walking distance of fantastic restaurants and entertainment was fantastic. Only problem was working out how the lights worked so please ask them when you get to your room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 57Michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Michele

Thanks for your lovely review on the Queen Victoria Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,550 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel

Property: Queen Victoria Hotel
Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen Victoria Hotel is the newest addition to Newmark Hotel’s portfolio, which offers a myriad of ideally located upmarket hotels, other accommodation options and restaurants. What sets this unique five-star boutique hotel apart is the attention to detail given by the creative team responsible for its development, who achieved this through their unwavering passion for awe-inspiring design.From the creative brief of ‘where classic elegance meets contemporary design’, every effort has been made to ensure that the 35-room Queen Victoria Hotel is a haven of calm, luxury and understated opulence amongst the hustle and bustle of Cape Town’s popular V&A Waterfront.The interiors create an ambience of peaceful elegance, through the use of greys and taupes, marble-clad walls, crystal chandeliers, white marble and wooden parquet flooring, not to mention the triple-volume foyer with its dramatic white spiral staircase, glass lift and crystal chandeliers. The signature shade of deep purple has been employed to add a touch of regal eccentricity as an ode to the historic figure after whom the hotel is named.From the food and beverage offering at the hotel’s restaurant and bar, Dash, to the interior aesthetic, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies a sense of international flair fused with local flavour. The menu at Dash is structured around classic French cuisine, with all ingredients sourced locally and seasonally, while ninety per cent of the interior pieces were sourced from local design geniuses.With a management team and staff dedicated to making every guest feel like royalty, a stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel will certainly exceed your expectation of what five-star luxury should be like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing