We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, slick and modern.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Ranked #16 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights for our anniversary. They had champagne and chocolates for us. the rooms were lovely. They bring chocolates at night. The breakfast was fantastic. We did have a problem with the room, it had no heat. So they ended up upgrading us to a junior suite which made out stay even more special. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCookie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Good day

Thanks for the lovely feedback, I'm glad to hear that the staff at the Queen Victoria Hotel could assist in making your anniversary a special one. We hope to welcome you back to Queen Victoria Hotel on your next visit to South Africa.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 752 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

Absolutely wonderful, from the minute we walked in the door. The staff were very professional, but so friendly and helpful for first time visitors to Cape Town. Perfectly situated for the V&A Waterfront's shopping and restaurants. The beds were the most comfortable we've ever slept in (I wanted to stay forever!). Our room was beautifully decorated, up there with Hong Kong's Peninsula for comfort and elegance (yes, we have stayed there). Breakfasts were superb, a great choice for either cooked or continental. Excellent value and would definitely stay if ever lucky enough to visit Cape Town again - just wish it was closer to Australia. Have been singing QV's praises to everyone and have told my travel agent how great our stay was. We loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Marg & Dennis

Thank you very much for this stunning review on your recent stay at Queen Victoria Hotel. I'm glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay and that the staff at QV were so friendly and helpful. I hope you'll be able to make your way to Cape Town again soon and allow us to host you once again!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Not the largest breakfast but location, cleanliness and service make it all worth it. Rooms are well kept. The staff was incredibly helpful. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking in the waterfront area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bwenzofsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Good day

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Thanks for the complimentary remarks regarding our facilities and services.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a great couple of nights at the Queen Vic. Rooms are very spacious and the position within walking distance of fantastic restaurants and entertainment was fantastic. Only problem was working out how the lights worked so please ask them when you get to your room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 57Michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Michele

Thanks for your lovely review on the Queen Victoria Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We enjoyed 4 days last month in this world class city. Our travel agent booked
us into the Queen Victoria Hotel and we found it to be ideal. The location is
excellent...just a few minutes walk to the waterfront...and we could see both the
waterfront and table mountain from our balcony. The room was very spacious
and well furnished. The public areas are quite nice and the hotel has an excellent
restaurant and bar where we enjoyed food and drink on several occasions. The
breakfast is especially grand. I saved the staff comments for last. Kudos to Bobby
the manager, to Gershon the concierge, to Phinde the wonderful and efficient
waitress and to Giya, the bartender. A wonderful team who contributed to making
our stay memorable. Certainly hope to return to Cape Town and the Queen Victoria
Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joefish925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Good day

Thanks so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review on the Queen Victoria Hotel. I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff contributed to making your stay a special one. I will pass your complimentary remarks on to Bobby, Gershon, Phinde and Giya - we pride ourselves on delivering the highest standard of service, so it is great to receive such positive feedback!

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

When we were picked up at the airport we were informed that we had been upgraded from our V&A booking. The cynic in me said yeah right just a scam because we got a cheap rate on booking.com. Boy was I wrong. To be fair I have not stayed at the V&A, but their is no way this place is not a huge upgrade. From the warm greeting by the doorman, to the attentive service during check-in, the experience following 24hrs of travel was wonderful. We are in 1212 ( don't leave until tomorrow) which has an ok view of the mountain ( or at least the clouds covering it). But let's face it, who wants to spend time indoors looking out, when you are a short stroll to the centre of it all.
On our second day we headed out on a shark tour, when we returned to our room, we had a note saying we had reservations at Gold Resturant. Now this was on our list of things to do, but I will swear up and down that I did not pass that on to the hotel. I confronted Bobby about this and he claims I must have mentioned it on check-in. The fact that they remembered (and acted upon) something I have no recollection of speaks volumes to the attention to detail by this hotel staff ( BTW, highly recommend a night at Gold).
Every morning we were greeted by our friends in the dining room, and after a few days I believe you will also refer to the dining room staff as friends, they are just that nice, where we were treated to a magnificent breakfast, that became on of the highlights of the day.
Tonight we stayed in and had dinner at Dash. what a wonderful meal! If I could figure out how to post pictures to this site I would because words cannot describe how visually stunning the meal was. And it tasted better than it looked! For the two of us to have a meal of similar quality back in Canada, we would easily spend 3 times the $90 Cdn this meal cost.
We head out tomorrow, but are booked into the V&A on the 29th before our flight home. Here's hoping for another upgrade

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hameo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Good day

Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent stay with us. I'm very glad to hear that you had such an amazing time and I will certainly pass the complimentary remarks on to Bobby and the staff at Queen Victoria Hotel and Dash Restaurant.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just back from a 5 night stay at the Queen Victoria and I really enjoyed my stay.
My room was in the ground floor, big, quiet, but not great view, but we still enjoyed the serenity of the hotel.
I actually requested for a room in higher level, the front desk said they will look into it, but never came back to me, having said this, the room was still very comfortable.
The hotel is small and the decor is modern and fresh, I liked it. Also the breakfast was very nice and the guys working at the restaurant were extremely nice. I thought it was great having breakfast served until 11 and there is champagne for those who want a champagne breakfast/brunch!
I agree with some of the comments about the Front Desk not being very friendly but not a major complain though.
All in all, I definitely recommend this hotel as it is centrally located, with big rooms and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Good day

Thank you for having taken the time to write a review in respect of your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. This allows me the opportunity to monitor our service levels to guests. Thanks for the compliments as well as pointing out the areas for improvements.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,728 reviews
1.3 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,860 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House

Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $296 - $739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House is a luxuriously appointed, deluxe boutique hotel in the Portswood Ridge Precinct in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town. The hotel not only encapsulates the luxurious style and attention to detail that defines small, luxury retreats around the world but also enjoys a unique location. The hotel has 35 luxurious rooms and suites, including a presidential suite with a generous terrace for al fresco entertaining. From the food and beverage offering at Dash, the hotel’s restaurant and cocktail bar, to the interior aesthetics, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies exquisite international flair that is fused with local flavour. The Manor House is adjacent to the Queen Victoria Hotel - and is a butler-serviced 4 suite boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing