We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet hotel, understated luxury with good service and friendly staff at all levels.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Ranked #14 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Four nights in this hotel were a joy as apart from the peaceful ambience and quietness it is very close to all the attractions. Food in the Dash Restaurant is excellent and cocktails under £3 each-the cheapest in the area! Breakfast is pretty much anything you ask for-we had poached eggs on toast with crispy bacon most days (not on the menu) and it was always cooked to perfection. Comfortable bed and enough luxury to make this a top choice for central hotel close to the V & A Waterfront.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterscarff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 717 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Queen Victoria hotel this week and just loved it. We stayed in room 1213 - a beautiful room in a quiet location in the hotel. No we didn't have a view of Table Mountain but we value peace and quiet and it was certainly both of those. The bed was very comfortable and the turndown service with the wee dessert left for each of us became a nightly anticipation.
Breakfast was superb; plenty of choices of fresh fruits; cereals; breads & bakery & a good selection of cooked options.
A special mention should go to Amy who went the extra mile in providing excellent service.
We will stay at the Queen Victoria hotel again if we ever visit Cape Town again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were transferred to this beautiful hotel after initially booking in at the nearby V&A waterfront because we were not happy with the room there. The Queen Victoria however was absolutely fabulous. A quiet very modern but extremely comfortable and luxurious hotel tucked away but also just a couple of hundred yards from the waterfront. The manager Bobby was very helpful by recommending where to eat and arranged a game of golf for us too. The hotel is spotless and the staff are very helpful too. Our room was spacious and beautifully appointed with everything we needed. The bathroom was something special too. We liked the little cake treats that arrived each night with the turn town service.
The breakfast was lovely with a great variery to choose from. There is a strange painting above the fire place in the cocktail bar and my husband and I spent some time trying to think of a caption for it. You'll know what I mean when you see it!....
Just across the court yard is the Dock House which is also part of the QV. This is a lovely garden with a pool and pool house. Its a lovely place to spend a few house soaking up the Cape Town sun drinking a beer or a wonderful strawberry daquarie.
We spent 4 nights at this lovely hotel. It was a great place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone as a first class choice.

Room Tip: I dont think you could get a poor room at this great hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANNE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Upon our arrival (11 am) there was a lame guy sitting at the front desk not really greeting us properly nor explaining where we could freshen up after our flight and suggesting where to go before check-in was ready. However when we came back at around 2pm another guy was there and that’s where the fantastic service began. We were shown to our suite by Mr. Pringle who attended to our every need from there on.

The food at their restaurant Dash was absolutely marvelous. It was a work of art as well as a fabulous treat to eat upon every bite. This however is another review. The hotel was splendid, our suite was perfect. Having stayed at the Bay several years before this, I can easily say that the Queen Victoria beats it. I dream of going back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sokriw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

when we saw the sign for the Queen Victoria, we were shocked: the building we thought the hotel was, was an ugly worn out 70ties construction! Luckiliy it was only the entrance to some sort of inner courtyard.Our concern faded away quickly when we noticed the actual entrance of the hotel: clean, modern, sleek .Someone took immediately care of our car and luggage and we were guided to our room wich turned out to be spotless: very nice bed, impeccable bathroom and nice view.We immediately regretted that we could only stay for one night.
location was excellent; there is a garden and pool (water was not too transparent though)to be enjoyed.price is on the high side but who cares on the 14th of Feb!
personnel was very helpfull but not always accurate: we asked for a specific restuarant and we were assured that it was fully booked whereas we knew for sure that one couldn't book there.Indeed we went there and had a great dinner

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view and make sure you specify the type of bed you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190bart190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Located just a five minute walk away from the bustling active Waterfront, one cannot ask for a better location to enjoy Cape Town to it's fullest.

The vibrant waterfront with the many cruises, fine dining, shopping choices, access to Robben Island and much much more is the place to stay close to. The hotel with it's excellent friendly staff provides exactly that and more. I had a room with a partial view of the waterfront, but more importantly, a clear view of the fabled Table Mountain. Some sheds and a few ugly cranes do block the view a bit, but trust me, watching the clouds roll on or off the top of the Table Mountain while siting in the deck chairs of the balcony is a great experience!

The courteous reception staff are always sure to greet you as you come in or go out and are happy to help you with anything you need, such as calling for and arranging for a taxi to for the taxi to the Cable car station for the Table Mountain.

The rooms are spacious and very well appointed. The bath was very nice in my room. The balcony is a definite plus. The turn down service is efficient, unlike even some so called high end places. You will come to look forward to the pastry and chocolate that is always left behind in the evening.

I only had one meal at the restaurant - lunch. Very well prepared and served at a price which was very reasonable.

All in all, a great experience and I would certainly look forward to coming back!

Room Tip: Check whether your room has a balcony because all rooms don't. The balcony rooms will aford you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzizDhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I only stayed here for one nigt. The hotel is located right at the center of Waterfront. Clean an rather big rooms as well as good service. Fresh breakfast buffet with nice selection. You will enjoy this hotel.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,074 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House

Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $398 - $885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House is a luxuriously appointed, deluxe boutique hotel in the Portswood Ridge Precinct in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town. The hotel not only encapsulates the luxurious style and attention to detail that defines small, luxury retreats around the world but also enjoys a unique location. The hotel has 35 luxurious rooms and suites, including a presidential suite with a generous terrace for al fresco entertaining. From the food and beverage offering at Dash, the hotel’s restaurant and cocktail bar, to the interior aesthetics, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies exquisite international flair that is fused with local flavour. The Manor House is adjacent to the Queen Victoria Hotel - and is a butler-serviced 4 suite boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing