We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“classy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel
Ranked #14 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“classy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the Queen Victoria for a week as part of our visit to Africa. What a lovely hotel. The reception, bar and dining area were beautifully designed and furnished as was our room. Our bathroom was large with toilet in a separate room and the shower was a lovely walk in area which was really spacious. We were on the ground floor and also had a small walk on balcony. The weather was not brilliant whilst there as we went in August which was in the middle of their winter but we still did table mountain and the trips to the surrounding areas and the cape.
We decided to visit the Cape area of Africa before going to the wedding in Livingstone and staying at the Queen Victoria was brilliant. Breakfasts were a joy with a really wide choice of extremely well presented and enjoyable food. Whilst at the hotel we decided to have a
meal with all the people attending the wedding and it was a tremendous success. Everyone, without exception, said it was probably one of the best meals of they had had. Compliments to everyone at the hotel who made our stay truly memorable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrissyColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    110
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
63
414
16
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
220 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent three nights here and were really impressed with almost everything. The staff were the highlight - courteous, friendly and helpful. The hotel is immaculate with modern artworks and design. Our room was comfortable and spacious with a huge bathroom. The breakfasts were delicious.

The location is a short walk from the Waterfront, which is very lively with busy (and pleasingly multicultural) bars. Lots of great restaurants - our favourite was Baia with wonderful seafood.

Can't really think of any criticisms but it was a shame the restaurant and bar weren't busier because they seemed very good. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spineynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were originally booked for the V&A but was moved to the Queen Victoria. We were extremely pleased with hotel, from the front desk staff (Bertham - ever friendly and super-efficient; Maggie - very helpful), rooms and decor (I had Room 1213 which was really beautiful), great breakfast, and even the courteous chamber maids and doormen. One of the best hotels I've stayed in, and I've stayed in a few in my travels!

Only complain was the slow wifi from the room and that no room-slippers nor newspapers were available.

Room Tip: Request for Room 1213! You'd be pleased with the sight as you open the door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Initially we were booked for the Victorian and Alfred Hotel, but decided to move to Queen Victoria Hotel. Bethram, the front desk staff of QV personally came to pick up us (its a stroll fr. QV to V&A), and Tamaryn another front desk staff assisted me when I had left my laptop with SAA express. They did it with such aplomb and genuine interest that it really made my day. Bethram and Tamaryn, you guys are really great, the best service professional I have met in my many journeys abroad.

The room was great and everything about this small hotel is perfect. I will stay here again and recommend others to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denimautum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Loved love loved this hotel. We arrived jet lagged and loved the immediate comfort it offered. I nearly didn't want to leave the room at all! Staff could not do enough for us. Breakfast excellent. Decor and comforts top notch. Toiletries luxurious. Wifi. Turndown nighttime treats. Complimentary water. Great location. We ate in Sevruga on waterfront - great calamari. dash in the hotel is also supposed to be top notch but we just didn't have time. This hotel just made Cape Town for us :)

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DeirdreIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We just returned from our South African journey and we miss our trip already! We stayed at the Queen Victoria for 3 nights earlier this month and it was a really good experience. We had a Deluxe room on the 2nd floor and it was an ideal size - large but also cozy - with very tasteful decor. The bathrooms were, again, spacious and well appointed but not overwhelming. We can only imagine how nice the more expensive rooms are!

As many others have mentioned already, the location near but not on the V&A Waterfront was ideal. It was convenient yet just slightly distanced enough for it to feel relaxing and quiet. We rented a car for the last 2 days so it was wonderful to have free parking just around the corner from the main entrance of the hotel. Breakfasts were delicious and copious and the restaurant is beautifully decorated in the same style as the rest of the hotel. Another bonus is that you are allowed to take your breakfast at the Victoria & Alfred Hotel as well should you wish. We did that the morning we went to Robben Island because the dock is right near the V&A Hotel - it was both convenient and a nice change of scenery.

If I had to find a negative, then I would say that the doormen could be a bit more polished at times. They were always a bit standoffish whenever you approach the hotel. Also, since it rained every day, we had to grab one of the hotel umbrellas each time we were heading out and each time the doorman would brusquely demand our room number. It's really not a big deal but it wasn't pleasant and it wasn't necessary either since no one ever asks your room number when you return the umbrellas later on if their purpose was to keep tabs! The front desk staff was helpful and beyond reproach though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sashapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This new hotel in the former old dockyard office area has been developed to a high standard.
Literally 3 mins walk from the busy waterfront area so you're really in the hub of everything food and bars incl nightlife wise. Very safe and secure if you're feeling a tad nervous when you first arrive (we weren't - but some of the travel guides big up this aspect unfairly!)

Staff were really top drawer and very helpful - my luggage was missing on the inbound flight but staff helped with basic shaving stuff (all Moulton Brown) etc.

Rooms were excellently appointed and the breakfast was a real treat to wake up to!

The city tour buses departed close by - perfect location and to be so quiet and relaxing too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Waterfront view or Table mountain view (upper floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMRook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.3 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#34 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel

Property: Queen Victoria Hotel
Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen Victoria Hotel is the newest addition to Newmark Hotel’s portfolio, which offers a myriad of ideally located upmarket hotels, other accommodation options and restaurants. What sets this unique five-star boutique hotel apart is the attention to detail given by the creative team responsible for its development, who achieved this through their unwavering passion for awe-inspiring design.From the creative brief of ‘where classic elegance meets contemporary design’, every effort has been made to ensure that the 35-room Queen Victoria Hotel is a haven of calm, luxury and understated opulence amongst the hustle and bustle of Cape Town’s popular V&A Waterfront.The interiors create an ambience of peaceful elegance, through the use of greys and taupes, marble-clad walls, crystal chandeliers, white marble and wooden parquet flooring, not to mention the triple-volume foyer with its dramatic white spiral staircase, glass lift and crystal chandeliers. The signature shade of deep purple has been employed to add a touch of regal eccentricity as an ode to the historic figure after whom the hotel is named.From the food and beverage offering at the hotel’s restaurant and bar, Dash, to the interior aesthetic, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies a sense of international flair fused with local flavour. The menu at Dash is structured around classic French cuisine, with all ingredients sourced locally and seasonally, while ninety per cent of the interior pieces were sourced from local design geniuses.With a management team and staff dedicated to making every guest feel like royalty, a stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel will certainly exceed your expectation of what five-star luxury should be like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing