We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and service to die for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food and service to die for!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had a wonderful meal in the Dash Restaurant after a week of many flights and meetings throughout South Africa. This was a haven of exceptional food, service and attention to detail. We will be back again hopefully in the "summer" season but truthfully it wouldn't matter when we next visit Cape Town - the Queen Victoria and Dash Restaurant will be a certainty for our team!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank tourtalk83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    115
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
65
440
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Basically, you are across the street from the entrance to the Victoria and Albert Waterfront at a fraction of the price of the hotels not many steps away!

The breakfast is superb and so is the service--the hotel look is modern, clean and the rooms are spacious and very nicely laid out.

We had an enormous tub and tow sink--separate huge shower with the latest body sprays and personal hand showers, as well as the large overhead faucet ---The enclosure is glass and marble with a marble seat.

Also great--it's off a little courtyard with its sister hotel "The Dockside" where you can use it's internet free of charge and has a beautiful grassy courtyard with a pool and lounges also at your disposal. The view from the Queen Victoria is Table Mountain!
The fact that it is across the street form all the noise and action is actually a plus--a bit of respite after all the fun and action.

It's a very smart choice...

Room Tip: As k for an upgrade if it's possible--try to get a room facing the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed four nights at this fabulous hotel...warm, personable service with a great location! The V&A Waterfront is very close with good shopping and numerous dining options. The food at the hotel is excellent..breakfast is included and is one of the best we have had. Everything is so fresh and service is impeccable. Dinner was superb...presentation great and so surprised that more people don't frequent this hotel as the food is better than any of the restaurants at the Waterfront that we had eaten at during our stay. The rooms are large and very comfortable....big bathroom with shower and bath with wonderful Charlotte Rhys toiletries. If you like this product there is a CR shop in the V&A Shopping Centre! We would definitely recommend this small, boutique hotel if you are visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlossAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Queen Victoria was home for about a week while my husband and I stayed in Cape Town. Its location couldn't be better; steps from the waterfront for shopping, dining and great views. The food at the hotel is exceptional; especially the buffet breakfast included in the rate. I took perhaps one of the most beautiful photos of my breakfast one morning -- smoked fish and tomatoes with pea tendrils. You can order off the menu -- including cappuccinos and the like -- or eat from the central buffet table which offers breads, cheeses, smoked salmon, yogurt parfaits and a boozey juice bar. It's heavenly way to start your day in a beautiful place. The size of the hotel is perfect. Around 35 rooms. The staff is friendly and extremely helpful. And it's beautiful inside. Go stay there when you travel to Cape Town. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank utrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at the hotel soon after it opened and were dazzled by the chic decor and attention to detail. We loved the elegant silver, gray and violet decor and contemporary art and furnishing so much that we had our friends (staying at the nearby Commodore) up for drinks in our room. Breakfast buffet was outstanding. Service was knowledgeable, capable and eager although not warm -- which actually fit the cool design as well.
Location-- excellent for waterfront, a bit out of the fray but short walk, but next trip I'd stay in the city or suburbs v the more tourist/commerce oriented waterfront.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Styleandcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our Travel agent recommended this to us (we had suggested The Commodore which is next door and far bigger) so we were so pleased with his choice. This is a fantastic "boutique" hotel with everything going for it. We arrived to find we had been upgraded which in itself was a lovely surprise as quite often in the UK Travel Agent bookings seem to get the worst rooms. We had a corner room with views of Table Mountain. The room was enormous with 2 lovely armchairs and a sofa to watch the large flat screen TV from. Turn down service was a nice touch with little sweet meats. A couple of small problems with the room (light bulb not working and water leak) - both we fixed on the day we reported them - which was a Sunday too! Breakfast is good with great choice of cold and freshly cooked hot - so nice not to have one of those hot buffets with congealing food. In the evening the bar was welcoming and the waiter remembered us and what we had been drinking the night before. I cannot think of anything wrong with the hotel - except that its location up some stairs from the Waterfront would not suit anyone with walking difficulties.

Room Tip: Ask for a Table Mountain View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank maggie9898210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2012

we stayed in early July 2012, family of four. Absolutely perfect location wise, but not moneys worth. Rooms are spacious. very limited room service if you are arriving late for a lunch after a flight as chefs leave after breakfast.. No lunch served. also lost our laundry, and actually said they will mail it back! no reimbursement yet or no clothes back. Not sure how to resolve issues for a five star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakshmi703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,210 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House

Property: Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House is a luxuriously appointed, deluxe boutique hotel in the Portswood Ridge Precinct in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town. The hotel not only encapsulates the luxurious style and attention to detail that defines small, luxury retreats around the world but also enjoys a unique location. The hotel has 35 luxurious rooms and suites, including a presidential suite with a generous terrace for al fresco entertaining. From the food and beverage offering at Dash, the hotel’s restaurant and cocktail bar, to the interior aesthetics, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies exquisite international flair that is fused with local flavour. The Manor House is adjacent to the Queen Victoria Hotel - and is a butler-serviced 4 suite boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing