We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pepenero

Pepenero
Ranked #329 of 1,135 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cape Town
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delightful Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Yesterday, my friend and I , shared a delightful lunch at Pepenero. We received a friendly welcome, was shown promptly to our table, our waiter was highly attentive, good wine selection, a nice choice of menu. We ordered the Pepenero Fillet encrusted with pepercorns and dijon mustard. The meal was brought in good time, served very nicely with a choice of side orders, of which i ordered mashed potatoe. My only critisicm, was possiby my steak could have been cooked a little more, when asking for medium., compared to my friends - who ordered medium rare - between the two steaks , there was no difference.We finsihed with desert and coffee . A very pleasant afternoon, of good wine, a great meal with good service..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona65_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Pepenero, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for both the positive feedback and constructive criticism.

We will certainly address the issues mentioned internally and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    116
    49
    31
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Local Sea Front Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This restaurant is well situated on the promenade just past the lighthouse. Great service and good food, not badly priced either. Olivier was my waiter, very helpful and good knowledge of the menu. I will return there for sure!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GlenBoutiqueHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Pepenero, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for both the positive feedback and constructive criticism.

We will certainly address the issues mentioned internally and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
263 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our second visit and we arrived without a reservation. The staff were friendly and accommodating. It was really cold and windy evening and the only tables they had available were on the enclosed terrace which I was not so happy about, but our waiter moved a table for us under a heater and gave us blankets for our laps which really did the trick! The food was good and the specials were quite extensive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lulu008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Pepenero, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ok, but not at the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have eaten here a few times over the last couple of years. The food is good but not great but the prices are high for the standard of food. The good thing about Pepenero are the service, quite good and a view of the ocean, so if you go, try to get a seat near the window.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Capie_Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Pepenero, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback.

I assure you that your comments will be discussed and addressed internally. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“prawns and seafood plate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

This restaurant has a very nice view, in front of the sea, and very good vibe any day of the week. the foos is great, you should try seafood plate or kilo prawns. they have winter specials with a very good price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Pepenero, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback and positive comments. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepenero also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Pepenero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing