We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy bar for a drink”
Review of Planet Restaurant

Planet Restaurant
Ranked #140 of 1,163 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Bowl
Description: The glittering Planet Restaurant and Planet Bar are chic, contemporary spaces in which to enjoy out-of-this-world dishes and cocktails. Dining with the stars is guaranteed at Cape Town's most stylish restaurant. Crystal balls grace the entrance and the decor includes a galaxy-themed carpet, planetary chandelier and twinkling ceilings. Matching the decor are Chef Rudi Liebenberg's heavenly menus, journeys of gastronomic discovery featuring the freshest local ingredients. The unique, intimate atmosphere of the Planet Restaurant cellar is an ideal venue for a perfect private party.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Classy bar for a drink”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Planet Bar at the Mount Nelson is a stylish place to meet friends for a drink, straight after work or later on in the evening. They serve delicious bar snacks and the ambience is fabulous. Chances are you'll spy a movie star now and the as the hotel is a favourite of many celebs from SA and abroad.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    86
    32
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dissappointed”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We've always been fans of The Planet Bar but after last night's visit we probably won't return again. R90 for a martini and R40 for an Appletiser is just obscene! Its so sad that us locals are excluded from these type of venues because of such high prices!

Helpful?
2 Thank munier b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gundula W, Manager at Planet Restaurant, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your view relating to our pricing, they are in fact very market related for 5-star properties, who, like us, provide free parking, free high quality snacks, a great ambience and a wonderful environment ... we do value our Capetonians and of course also want you to feel you have had a great evening out, not just a great drink. We have noted your comments and will bear this in mind when we revise our beverage offering. Thank you for taking the time to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fantastic but you pay for it”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Went here for Valentines day. Had the most amazing meal and evening. Extremely pricey but you do get the 5 star treatment.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JasonmFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gundula W, Manager at Planet Restaurant, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your valued comments, our Valentine's Day is a special occasion, with live music, and extra courses as well as a glass of special MCC - all costs a little more, but at least we are happy to hear that you enjoyed this special evening with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Evening!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

hosted my 21st last night, 10th May at the unbelivable Planet Restaurant. Have dined numerous times before hence chose it for this momentus occasion. The photos do not give it justice - its really is stunnning with beautiful chairs and intimate tables so you can hear everyone. [Rare in cape town!]. Wanted everything to be perfect for my party of 7. From months before, I had already started bothering lovely Chantal who answered my every request with such grace. Get there to see that not only have they organised the best table in the house but despite our age, treated us like complete royalty. every single staff member was welcoming, knew when to interrupt and were enthusaistic throughout. Delicious food - I would personally recommend the duck terrine and the prawn curry but every dish is beautifully presented. Generous additional tasters (the white chocolate truffle is amazing!). Left at 12am (thank you to the staff for staying so late and not making us at all feel rushed!) with the fondest memories and was most certainly the perfect evening I had so hoped for!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank capetowngirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb service”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We were staying in the hotel on the last night our honeymoon, couldn't fault the service in the restaurant even the chocolates at the end of the meal with congratulations written on! Great wine pairings too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank UkHappytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Planet Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Planet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing