We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor”
Review of Planet Restaurant

Planet Restaurant
Ranked #127 of 1,148 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City Bowl
Description: The glittering Planet Restaurant and Planet Bar are chic, contemporary spaces in which to enjoy out-of-this-world dishes and cocktails. Dining with the stars is guaranteed at Cape Town's most stylish restaurant. Crystal balls grace the entrance and the decor includes a galaxy-themed carpet, planetary chandelier and twinkling ceilings. Matching the decor are Chef Rudi Liebenberg's heavenly menus, journeys of gastronomic discovery featuring the freshest local ingredients. The unique, intimate atmosphere of the Planet Restaurant cellar is an ideal venue for a perfect private party.
Walsall
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was my fifth visit to the Planet in three years (and probably my last). The normal excellent and attentive service has gone. A one hour wait for our main course to arrive. I had to ask for a new bottle of water, having been left without any for 20 minutes. The wine did not arrive until we had finished our starter and was finished before the main course arrived. The starters were average and while two of the main courses were good the other two were poor.
The menu was limited at best. In previous year the 5 course 'Journey' Menu included not only Springbok, but also Ostrich and Crocodile. A real taste of Africa, served with panache. This years menu included two pasta dishes. This was the most expensive meal on our two week trip, poor service and average food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gundula W, Manager at Planet Restaurant, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies that your recent dining experience did not live up to the expectations you had during previous experiences. We appreciate your feedback and acknowledge, that although we strive for perfection, and deliver such most of the time, we clearly failed you on this evening. We will take your comments to heart and use them to work on the issues you have raised. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    86
    32
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Deserves a higher TA ranking”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

As regular visitors to Cape Town each UK winter, we eat around over 2 weeks and this was the most outstanding restaurant this time. The themed décor, cavernous and beautiful interior, well spaced tables, attentive service, short but imaginative/well thought out and balanced menu (less is more), excellently presented and tasty food, bonus of tasty amuse bouche and chocolate petit fours, all combine to make a great experience. Diners aren't rushed, and noisy large parties are absorbed into the atmosphere not spoiling others' experience (a problem in lots of CT restaurants). Only small gripe, its red wine is served too cold. About the same price as other top CT restaurants, and well worth the cost.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wilderness55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gundula W, Manager at Planet Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for a wonderful review, you accurately described our restaurant. We are happy to hear that your dining experience was a superb one, and thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are always grateful as our ranking depends on reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Scintillating”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Not "British" , really continental / French fine dining. The 5 course chef's tasting menu (7, if you include the amuses and chocolates at the end) is exquisite and tremendous value @ $50.00. On the day I ate there, it included local fish Kabeljou and Springbok. I was glad to get away from the overpriced commercialism of the V&A Waterfront.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 733mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gundula W, Manager at Planet Restaurant, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for the 'scintillating' review - we love it! and we are glad you enjoyed our special 'Journey Menu' with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“AN EXPERIENCE OF A LIFE TIME”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

If you want one dining experience in the Mother City, it must be this one. You're made to feel like friends, you're seated in a nook in the kitchen and can see all the chefs at work. We were introduced to the chefs, had our dedicated waiter and sommelier at hand. Each dish was presented by the chef that prepared it and then the sommelier would give reasons for choosing a specific wine. Excellent in every aspect. An unforgettable experience. I felt I went to heaven. We took two our children along, but I did not want to mark "family" as our children are in their 20's.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lita520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic service & great setting”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

On the terrace overlooking the gardens on a beautiful summers evening, what a luxury with world class cocktails & a Bar Manager (Benson) who is top notch, try his speciality, true bliss!
Service is top notch as one would expect from a five star establishment. Great reception welcome as well. Unfortunately we had dinner plans at another top restaurant but will definitely be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gundula W, Manager at Planet Restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for your compliments - our Planet Bar team will be happy to read them.
We look forward to welcoming you to our Planet Restaurant on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Planet Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Planet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing