We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprise 5 star experience”
Review of Planet Restaurant

Planet Restaurant
Ranked #132 of 1,155 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Bowl
Description: The glittering Planet Restaurant and Planet Bar are chic, contemporary spaces in which to enjoy out-of-this-world dishes and cocktails. Dining with the stars is guaranteed at Cape Town's most stylish restaurant. Crystal balls grace the entrance and the decor includes a galaxy-themed carpet, planetary chandelier and twinkling ceilings. Matching the decor are Chef Rudi Liebenberg's heavenly menus, journeys of gastronomic discovery featuring the freshest local ingredients. The unique, intimate atmosphere of the Planet Restaurant cellar is an ideal venue for a perfect private party.
BC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A surprise 5 star experience”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had read about this restaurant in Frommers but did not connect it to the review as when you are walking on KloofvSt it looks rather non - description with a sign at a parking lot entrance. However the walk through the parking lot and then past a renovation of the hotel brought us to a fabulous dining experience. We only wish we had discovered it earlier in our stay.the food was excellent and all of the professional wait staff ensured we had acgreatvdining experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacquieBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    86
    32
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Tea experience”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Did not stay at the hotel, only had high tea, but it was quite an experience. It is not like the Ritz where you are served your food, but is a buffet, although a very grand one. You can eat as much as you like and are served different types of tea at your table. We tried 3 different types of tea, the last being made with all milk! All in all a good experience, not as good as the Ritz but not as expensive either.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank janhooper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Refined Elegance”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful and elegant tradition. Refined and sophisticated. Excellent service and attention to detail.

Helpful?
Thank Oceantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Utterly spoiled”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My best friend treated me with a belated birthday treat at the Mount Nelson - not only does the high tea remain one of my favourites in Cape Town, but the heated pool (yes we stayed over!!) was an added enjoyable experience - especially in the company of a large Egyptian goose!! Patrick welcomed us upon arrival and tended to us in a very pleasant and utterly professional manner until we departed the next day. Even when our television made a funny noise, two technicians were sent to our room promptly and within 5 minutes all was fine again. I can honestly say that my stay at "The Nellie" was one of my birthday treats during which I felt the most spoiled. (a quick last note - we stayed in a luxury suite and it was really spacious and very sound proof so that one really did not feel like you were in a CBD - beautiful views of the gardens)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gourmet tasting menu”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were impressed by the hotel from the start.they were quick to organise a table reservation for the Monday night Tasting menu special offer, and happy to increase our reservation to four people, without fuss. Having arrived early at the hotel, we were able to park outside easily, and enjoy a delicious cup of tea in the characterful lounge. the cocktails in the Nelson themed bar were good, and the dinner delicious. One of our party was vegetarian, but that did not phase them. Well done Mount Nelson. Great service, and very good value. A nice night out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Planet Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Planet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing