We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happening place”

Mitchell's Scottish Ale House
Ranked #109 of 1,155 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Happening place”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Went there for the dark ale. Also because it looked full on all the previous occasions I'd walked by it. Service was a little slow - possibly coz there was only one waitress at that time. Later on I did happen to see a waitress spending time to explain the beer menu to another group.
They have a good collection of ales and other beers. My wife had a cocktail which she was happy with. Avoid the chick livers - too curry like for starters.
Happy experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zzudhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    259
    113
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My 10 year old son and I watched the British Lions match here - there were a number of televisions showing various different sporting events and the upstairs bar is a non-smoking area where children are allowed.

There was a good selection of beers (although I sampled only one!) but the food was fairly basic. Service was alright but not spectacular and the whole thing was inexpensive.

A perfectly good place to watch a match and have a cheap and cheerful meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Romulus66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good value, good times for the whole family”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Mitchell's is a favourite hangout of ours in the Cape Town waterfront. We normally watch some weekend sport there over a decent meal and a few cold beers. Even though it is a rather rowdy sports pub, it is also very welcoming to families.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AceBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We tried to have supper at this very central 'pub' at Cape Town Waterfront. Service was poor and the food (even though only pizza and hamburger) took ages to arrive and was not impressive. Beer was good but the grimy environment is off-putting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaresSalaamMariuccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Chill Out”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a bar, no doubt about it. The atmosphere, rustic wooden tables which looks heavily used, and the smoky chilled out crowd makes this quite a good, albeit normal, spot to have a drink. Despite the very normal typical feel of the place, their beer was really impressive! Expect a huge variety, including their homebrews. We really enjoyed the experience of trying out their beers. What we were also surprised were their food. They were all quite well made, especially when you consider that it's mainly a bar and the prices were medium-high only. Their pizza actually beats many restaurants in the same price category! A must if you want to go and chill out as there's plenty to drink and plenty of people to watch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yoydna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell's Scottish Ale House also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Mitchell's Scottish Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing