We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant full day tour”

African Eagle Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.83*
and up
Cape of Good Hope, Cape Point and Stellenbosch Tour from Cape Town
Ranked #65 of 325 Tours in Cape Town Central
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to African Eagle Day Tours, your one stop destination for tours in Cape Town. Allow us to share the beauty of the Western Cape and surrounding areas with you, taking you across some of the region’s top destinations and attractions. Whether you choose to explore the rugged coastlines of the Cape Peninsula, sample some of South Africa's finest wines, go shark cage diving or game driving in the Kruger Park or travel along the Garden Route.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant full day tour”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Just arrived back at our hotel after a brilliant full day tour of the Peninsula and Cape Of Good Hope, we booked through African Eagle Day Tours and our excellent tour guide and driver was Michael. What another amazing day it has been in Cape Town, our tour started at 8.20 this morning and finished at 6.30 pm. Our driver was so chilled but so informative and helpful, I was expecting to be picked by coach, but our transport was a mini bus, there were 8 of us in the bus and what a great lot they were! During our tour we visited Clifton and Camps Bay, we saw the twelve apostles, Landudno, Hout Bay where we took the boat ride to seal island,Chapmans Peak Drive, Noordhoek, Ostrich viewing, Cape Of Good Hope nature reserve, Penguin colony at Boulders Beach..... Simply amazing! Simons Town, Muizenbosh, Kirstenboush Botanical Gardens.
I recommend this tour, we have had a great day and taken so much in, Michael our driver was so good and the trip was so educational. This trip cost us R 810, well worth the money!!!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    83
    31
    24
    28
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Peninsula in a day!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Great for those who do not want to hire a car but want to explore the Peninsula. It will take a whole packed day but won't be disappointing as you will get to see seals, Cape Of Hope, and the Penguin colony at Boulders Beach.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miriam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lied, misled, and almost ruined our last day in Cape Town.”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

- we made a booking for Shark Cage diving
- we called the day before to confirm after various emails already confirming
- they lied and said that our Shark Cage diving trip was cancelled "due to weather"
- we called several other Shark Cage diving companies and they explained that the conditions were perfect - "the water is like glass"
- unfortunately, given our short notice, we were unable to find another company to do this "Bucket List" excursion of a life time with
- it was our last day in Cape Town --- and what was meant to be the 'cherry on top' and my Christmas present to my husband
- I called African Eagle back and explained that all other tour operators would be going out the following day
- they agreed to find us a boat after ADMITTING that they had cancelled our original trip because the boat was overbooked (the boat is with "Shark Lady") and NOT because of poor weather conditions (lie #1)
- we were to be picked up at noon the following day so we woke up early, had a long breakfast and took advantage of our last morning in Cape Town
- when we returned to our hotel we had missed a call from African Eagle and as it turned out, they sent a driver to pick us up 45 minutes early and the driver was already well on his way out of town to the dive site ---- we once again missed our chance
- a representative from African Eagle told me to pay for a taxi for 1.5 hour drive and they could get us on boat - or so he promised (lie #2) - the taxi ride was REALLY expensive and we would have to pay out of pocket for most of it
- in the end, after a long time going back and forth over the phone, I finally called "Shark Lady" myself. She explained that their boats were full, and even if we did take a taxi, the boat was living that very minute and there was no way that we would have made it in time --- we would have traveled 3 hours round trip for nothing.... our arrival time would have been around 3pm and there are few, if any, boats that depart at that time (and they were all booked anyway)

Due to the unprofessional, unethical and deceitful actions of African Eagle... well... let's just say, we were more than disappointed.

Live and learn.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank dsherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Township tour”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed this half day morning tour of the townships. I learned so much. I got a much better understanding and it was great to be able to talk to the locals - and to try their local brew!. Thank you.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bardiegrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Cape of Good Hope needs a full day”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This tour was well worth the time and money, and a half day tour would definitely be rushed. However, there were a few glitches.
Although the driver/tour guide did his job well, we were disappointed with the tour bus. For such a scenic landscape, the bus windows provided very poor site-lines. We were surprised that this company chose such vehicles for its fleet.
Our first stop was at Hout Bay Harbour where we paid a fee to visit the fur seals just outside the harbor. Great little side trip that did not disappoint!
The Cape and Cape Point are rugged landscapes providing wonderful vistas. It is possible to hike from the Cape to the Point, but this option was not well explained by our guide.
We ate at the Two Oceans Restaurant at Cape Point. The sea food seemed OK at the time but both of us were in the bathroom a few hours later when we stop[ed to visit the botanical gardens! Perhaps a quick bite at the sandwich shop would have been a better choice!
The penguin colony walk was an enjoyable stop.
We were given an hour at the Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens which is a very large site that for most people would require more time to explore, even if you are not overly excited by gardens. The setting at the base of the mountains and the variety of vegetation made the walk very interesting.
Overall, we enjoyed this day trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Eagle Day Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to African Eagle Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing