We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Recent Stay at BAck Packers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forty8 Backpackers Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Forty8 Backpackers Hotel
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“My Recent Stay at BAck Packers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Checking in was a hustle ,the receptionist required proof of payment yet t was sent to the establishmet well in advance and i was never advised to bring it on hand on check in.

Wrong key was given-result walked in on a naked man lying on bed-that trumatised me for the whole christmas day

Jason confirmed with me that we sharing a room with a lady but to my surprise we were sharing with a man,had to hide under bed when dressing up

Kitchen was nice and clean

Bathrooms were terrible-forever wet,no mops provided to wipe the floor after taking a shower.

Would not recommend it to my friends and fam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Precious S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    30
    21
    8
    13
See reviews for
8
18
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

The double room that we stayed in were too small, literally had no space to move. The price for value didn't match up. The dstv also had a limited number of channels and the position of the tv was bad.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Annelin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Benoni
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

From Silvanus Maduray,

Forty8 Backpackers' service was beyond expectation! I thank you for all you did for me in the duration of the trip! I hope to definitely use your hotel in the future and highly recommend anyone travelling to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank InqabaHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waroona, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed at hotel in August then again in September liked the improvements and changes to double rooms since new management. Staff were helpful and friendly. Will definitely return on next visit to Cape Town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

friendly staff who helped me find my way around the city. Had a wonderful time. looking forward to coming back. exellent service. I think Backpackers is my new home away from home. thanks again for having me.


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Queen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

<<48>> Backpack hotel in 48 hout street cape town, central.

Awesome its my 2nd home in cape town specially when i travel in cape town. I been 48 more than 7 time coz i love to stay here,

Its have amazing service and great hospitality- and have great neat and tidy. clean backpackers in cape town,,

my own prefer and i love it,, if any people wanna stay here its has few option and offfer
a) for summer
b) winter

u can get best special price to stay p/m R3000 means R100 p/day include coffee and tea
Free internet , WiFi,

even u can get good price to pay upfront payment for one week, but all depend on session and management price update

the room is very awesome - have dorm and private ,,

my own view i love 48 back pack hotel inc cape town,,

like one and only cape town ,, same one and only back pack is 48,,

try it and get more awesome stay, sleep, safe, comfortable and fun......


thank u my sweet 48,,

M Hasan ( Mamoon)
From Bangladesh

Room Tip: Dorm 4, and 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OmMamoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

After our long flight to Capetown (18 hours +) it was great arriving at our destination. Forty8 arranged a driver to pick us up from the Airport - at a cost of R170.

Forty8 Backpackers Hotel was clean, comfortable and a great location to Long Street, Greenmarket Square and especially ideal (5 mins walk) to our Nomad Tour pickup location for our 20 day overland camping tour.

We had a clean double room - quite spacious but no ensuites available you have to share the bathrooms and these are located on separate floors - mens on one and ladies on the other.

Hotel has a great living area with large flat screen TV and a compact kitchen and dining room area. It's a shame guests don't understand that they must wash their dishes after usage - this is extremely annoying - it's not a hotel but a backpackers!!

Our room did face a nightclub and at night their airconditioning system worked overtime and made sleep very difficult. My other biggest complaint is smoking which is allowed and drifts throughout the hotel - making it rather uncomfortable for non-smokers (like ourselves).

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the nightclub if you want a decent night sleep as their A/C unit noise is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenfrogBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
91 Loop
#18 of 130 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Long Street Backpackers
#35 of 130 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Cape Town Backpackers
Cape Town Backpackers
#29 of 130 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
A Sunflower Stop
#7 of 130 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forty8 Backpackers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty8 Backpackers Hotel

Property: Forty8 Backpackers Hotel
Address: 48 Hout Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Forty8 Backpackers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Forty8 Backpackers Hotel, TGCSA 4 Star - Graded accommodation. It is a luxurious and affordable backpackers hotel located right in the heart of Cape Town's Central Business District next to the famous Long Street. Long Street in Cape Town is renowned for it's abundance of street shops, cafe's, bars, pubs, clubs and restaurants. Forty8 Backpackers is well known for its unique elegance, you won't find trendier economical accommodation near Cape Town's hotspots than our comfortable backpackers hotel. We cater for all travellers from solo or groups visiting Cape Town domestically or internationally as we have rooms to accommodate up to 50 people. Our backpackers hotel is under new Management, newly refurbished and modernized. We focus on great service, a clean space, safety and a friendly attitude. When you travel to Cape Town make sure to visit us. We cater for adventurers of all ages including backpackers, students and groups and we have taken special care to cater for our guests needs. You will find a well catered for environment to make your stay hassle free. We have a snack bar, FREE internet access (including Wi-Fi), a Communal Lounge and Kitchen, laundry facilities and free tea and coffee. Forty8 Backpackers has 6 Bedrooms Dormitory style ranging from 4 beds, 6 beds, 10 beds and 12 beds in a bedroom and 3 Private Double bedrooms. A Dormitory room consists of double bunk beds and the Double room with Double beds. The Bathrooms are shared one for the Females and the other for the Males. We are open 24 hours, 365 days a year. At the reception you can obtain travel information, tour bookings, safety box and a laundry service. We have our own shuttle services that offer Door-to-Door pick-up and drop-off, Meet and Greet services at Cape Town International Airport, Tours and Transfers to and from different places and destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Forty8 Backpackers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forty8 Backpackers Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing