We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful restaurant with French theme” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mouette Restaurant

La Mouette Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 1,136 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Mouette Restaurant opened in 2010 by Chef and co-owner Henry Vigar, his wife, Mari and their business partner Gerrit Bruwer. La Mouette offers seasonally inspired and modern food. With ever-changing and seasonally inspired menus, friendly staff and a beautiful and unique venue, La Mouette has become a firm favorite with locals and regulars as well as established itself as a return go-to for our international guests. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant with French theme”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

La Mouette was recommended to us by Maarten's Guesthose and we were not disappointed - we were seated in a lovely courtyard outside as the weather was good and enjoyed great food and great service. Menu was in English and although french-themed, this was not a pretentious attempt at Parisienne cordon bleu - although the food itself was excellent, beautifully presented and mad good use of local produce. Relaxed, friendly staff and a wonderful ambience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    926
    302
    92
    33
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
141 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very good food in an nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is one the numerous gastronomic places in Cape Town, a city where foodies are in paradise. We decided to go for the Seafood Tasting Menu (6 courses) with wine pairing and it was really a good idea. We enjoyed very much the wines, just wonderful. Food is well cooked, which is important for seafood, and greatly presented in plates or ardoise.
This kind of menu can be too heavy sometimes, but at La Mouette, it was just a festival of tastes and smells.
We will come back and even if it is not the cheapest restaurant in town, I consider it's a good value for money. Please, don't forgett to book, as it's very popular.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paris-eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“Dinner at La Mouette”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful dinner at La Mouette, beautiful restaurant, great atmosphere, ideal for romantic date or dinner with friends but not child friendly. Service was good and welcoming. We ordered from the a la carte menu, but the 6 course tasting menu looked very good and great value for menu. The salt and pepper prawns starter and the tomato gazpacho with tuna tartare stood out, the gin and tonic dessert was light and creative and the chocolate pave divine. Mains of chalmar sirloin and yellow fin tuna were superb. The dishes can be described as fine dining, but not overly so. Costs very reasonable at around R275 per person for a 3 course dinner from the a la carte menu, excluding drinks and tip. Corkage of 60.00 is too expensive. Overall great dining experience and we shall definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank CapeFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamako, Mali
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent, Reasonably-priced, fantasic ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

TripAdvisor, you did it again! What can I say? Except that this was one of the best meals I've ever had! Located in an old mansion in the Sea Point area, this romantic setting offers both indoor and outdoor seating around a small fountain romantically lit. My friend and I decided to go with the 6-course fixed menu with the fish (you can also choose meat). Each course is paired with a local Cape wine, which is generously offered. (Take a cab!) From the mango/tomato bisque, the shrimp appetizer, the fried cheese balls, a cod main, and the strawberry ice desert, every bite was a guilty pleasure! And the wines, white, red, and bubbly, each better than the last. The price of the 6-course meal with 6 wines was only $40, a steal in my book. If you are not that hungry, you can order off the menu from $10-$20 for an entree. Great value! Definitely give La Mouette a try. You WON'T be disappointed!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClintWorldWide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont-Tremblant
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“My Favorite restaurant, period.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Located on the main street, near beach road, in the Sea Point district, this establishement is a must do...Had I found it before, we would´ve gone every evening.

Warm welcome (french security guard at the gates) quick sever, great explanations of menu options...we took the 7 course, boy oh boy did we like every little detail in the plates! (When they put truffle oil, its only drops..for flavour) everything is calculated, portions could seem small to some, but if you take the 7 course (with wine pairings) you'll get more then enough...)

La Mouette is not about quantity, but quality....Best ingredients, well cooked, wow presentation...

And the owners and staff ; we were fortunate enough to meet them, and talk to them about wine parings (wich were just perfect, seriously)

For the price you pay, this is definetly the adress to go. The set-up could look a bit formal, but staffers male you feel comfortableand you don't have that feel where they'd like to oversell...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank fredlebrasseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mouette Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to La Mouette Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing