We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This man can cook!”

La Mouette Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 1,144 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Mouette Restaurant opened in 2010 by Chef and co-owner Henry Vigar, his wife, Mari and their business partner Gerrit Bruwer. La Mouette offers seasonally inspired and modern food. With ever-changing and seasonally inspired menus, friendly staff and a beautiful and unique venue, La Mouette has become a firm favorite with locals and regulars as well as established itself as a return go-to for our international guests. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“This man can cook!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Decided to treat ourselves to the 6 course taster meal with wines ( very reasonable),as we have had some rather unspecial meals on our holiday so far! What a good decision.... The place is a delight at night ,beautiful courtyard and building,it was warm,so we opted to sit outside.the staff were so friendly,and carefully explained each course to us,different delicious wines arrived swiftly.the two of us tasted each others courses when they were different,so had the full experience ! I have eaten in some wonderful restaurants,my favourite is Le Manoir aux quatre saisons, I can just say,watch out Raymond Blanc! This man can cook,what a delicious mixture we had,not a bad one that evening. The taster size was just right,so we did not feel totally stuffed at the end, but as I do not often drink much,I did feel rather squiffy due to the alcohol!
Brilliant time,thanks folks. Do not miss this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sazza60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    944
    305
    92
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So good we had to go back a second time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went here on recommendation from our hotel for the first night of our honeymoon and had the taster menu with matching wines. The food was superb, we could not have asked for any better, and the service was spot on, attentive waiters but not 'in your face'. We couldn't stop talking about the lovely meal we had so we went back three days later, for our last meal in Cape Town before leaving for the Garden Route. The second night we ordered a la carte and it was, if possible, even better! Definitely recommend this little gem for anyone visiting Cape Town!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ecgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing New Year experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I'm new to Tripadvisor and felt moved to write a review almost 2 years too late (I wrote that we visited in 2012 but it was all that was available on the drop down menu)!

On New Year's eve 2011 we were staying in Sea Point and instead of booking, thought we'd wander down and see what was going on (we know Cape Town pretty well). Nowhere was open or had space that we liked the look of before we found ourselves at the gates of La Mouette. After looking at the menu and deciding that it would do, even if it was a bit pricey, we surprisingly got a table for all 6 of us in the courtyard.

What an evening. The food was out of this world, the wine went down a treat, and the courtyard setting on a warm summer's evening is absolutely divine. There were fireworks in the evening and the owner/chef came out to greet us which was a lovely touch. We left full and very very happy with our experience and when we return to Cape Town for our wedding over Christmas, we cannot wait to take some of our UK guests there to show them what the city has to offer!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sholmesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really worth a try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We went to la mouette under the recommendation of our hotel manager and the place was great. At night the patio is lovely and welcoming. We had diner close to the fire and ate delicious food in a fantastic and intimate atmosphere. Cherry on the cake, the a la carte dishes were not that expensive given the quality of what we had! Would definitely recommend!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Antoine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
279 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Beautiful decor and service to boot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I visited La Mouette to celebrate my anniversary, and boy am I glad I chose this beautiful restaurant. The impeccable service starts at the door where the host welcomed us and showed genuine enthusiasm.
We ordered the tasting menu with the wine pairing – each course was a treat and the portions were of a decent size.
The fireplace makes the place really cosy and creates a beautiful romantic atmosphere.
I would recommend La Mouette any day to anyone that is looking for a brilliant culinary experience

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine0789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mouette Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to La Mouette Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing