We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sean Casey, 6 star guide”

4 Cape Town Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 4 Cape Day Tours provides Private Day Trips to some of the most amazing scenery in the Cape Town Area. Our focus is the scenery in a relaxed environment. We have various day trips on offer. Wine country, Hermanus for whales and Cape Peninsula for some of the most amazing scenery. Send us an email for one of our team to take you on a journey. We specialize in small private groups
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Sean Casey, 4 Cape Day Tours, is highly recommended if you want a tour guide/driver who is flexible, amenable, relaxed, friendly and professional, and VERY honest. We were docked in Cape Town for only a day, and our ship offered a variety of 1 day excursions in Cape Town. However, we wanted to experience several of them. Sean was recommended on Trip Advisor so several emails later, we had an itinerary arranged which allowed us to do the 3 main things we wanted – Table Mountain, Stellenbosch, Cape Peninsula to the Cape of Good Hope – in an extended day 8am-6.30pm for R1950 + R300 per hour after 8 hours. Table Mtn tickets, wine tasting fees and lunch is extra.

Due to very rough weather, our ship’s captain altered our itinerary, which meant that we would be a day late arriving in Cape Town. Fortunately, Sean was able to accommodate this.

Sean picked us up dockside in his comfortable van which can cater for small groups. We took advantage of a beautiful, clear morning to go to Table Mtn first. Allow about 1-1.5hours for this if you are wanting to do other things. Otherwise there are lots of walks, etc and one could spend a day here. Then we drove to Stellenbosch, a very scenic drive through rolling vineyards surrounded by huge mountains. Neither of us is up to walking far, so Sean drove us around the town to view the historic buildings. We enjoyed the wine tasting but decided that Aussie wines are a cut above.

On the drive down the Cape, Sean took us to a terrific little fish n chip shop overlooking a small marina where we had a beer, wine and the freshest of fish for around AUD$15ea; and to a small beach to see the penguins. Not only was this free (elsewhere you have to pay) we were able to get up close and personal which is not permitted elsewhere. Lots of tourists at the Cape and all wanting to be photographed in front of the sign, so a bit of a line up here. Lovely, lovely drive through a variety of environments in the National Park and we got to see baboons, elands, and other animals which was unexpected.

We achieved and saw all that we wanted, and Sean was an excellent guide, very knowledgeable and a careful, safe driver. To top off a truly perfect day, just as I was pouring sundowners, I got a call from cruise security to say that Sean was on the dock to return some money because I had overpaid him! No one on the ship could believe it! But there he was. What more could one ask of a tour guide/driver. Truly fantastic. Thanks Sean for giving us the Cape Town experience of our lives.

Thank AnnieCanberra20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capetownfan, Owner at 4 Cape Town Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2011

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thanks for the compliments.

I am glad we were able to fit in all your requests in the short time you had in Cape Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 121 of 128 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2011

We were very fortunate to find Sean he drove us to the wine region as well as The Cape. We hired Sean for several days and felt that we did not miss out on anything. His knowledge as well as conversation was equally enjoyable. We travel a lot and for the most part we are often disappointed by our guides but certainly not this time.
He took time in explaining things, historical facts, geography, and fortunately a sense of humor. The pictures he took of us were probably the best we have. All I can say is I highly recommend Sean and I only wish he was available in other countries.

1  Thank Newtown_PaShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capetownfan, Owner at 4 Cape Town Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy we were able to exceed your expectations and to assist in making the most out of your time in Cape Town.

Regards
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

My friend and I had the most enjoyable day with Sean in March, 2010. It was our first time to Cape Town and trying to drive and sightsee at the same time didn't seem like such a good idea. I found Sean online and from the very beginning he was attentive, considerate, and willing to be entirely flexible. While we were together for the whole day, we were at ease and just soaked up all he had to say about the area, the history, the stories. He also has an excellent sense of humor.

He arrived on time. The vehicle was clean. And I'm returning to SA in 2012 and have already been in contact about another tour.

Thank kimwilliamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capetownfan, Owner at 4 Cape Town Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2011

Hi

Thanks for the positive response.

It is nice to know we are still dongs thing right.

Regards
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We were in Cape Town last December and initially planned to hire a car and self drive . But we had limited time and lots that we wanted to see so decided it would be more prudent to get a driver/ guide and found Sean to be all that and more!

Our first trip was to the wine country and Stellenbosche. We had arranged to do a tour at the Vergelegen Estate and Sean was more than happy to wait for us while we did this. My parents who are now retired, were with us and Sean got them a pensioners' discount when we entered the estate which I hadn't even thought of doing.When we got to Stellenbosche he provided us with a map with useful landmarks and must see sights.

The next trip we did was around the Cape Peninsula including the following.
-Chapman’s Peak, a beautiful drive and the toll was paid by Sean
- Hout bay where we took a boat out to see the seals
- Cape Point and lighthouse
- Cape of Good Hope Nature Reserve
- Boulder’s Beach -where you normally have to pay to see the Penguins, but Sean took us to a lovely stretch of beach where we saw lots of penguins for FREE!!
-Kirstenbosch National Botanical gardens

Sean was friendly, punctual, knowledgeable, a careful driver and by halfway in to our first trip we felt like we were old friends! He was also extremely helpful-my husband urgently needed a computer to transfer his photographs and Sean happily lent us his laptop to do this. We also needed to get some tickets refunded and although this was unplanned, at the end of our last trip he drove us all the way to the top of Table Mountain to where the cable company office was so that we could attend to this and then dropped us back at our hotel at no extra charge.

I have no hesitation in recommending Sean Casey!

Thank SunnySL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capetownfan, Owner at 4 Cape Town Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2011

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am glad that our efforts made your family stay in Cape Town a bit more memorable and easier.

Regards
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

If you want personal tours when in Cape Town, we would recommend Sean Casey. We wanted a small personal tour and Sean took us on two full day trips – one to the wine country and one to Cape Peninsula. Being a world traveler himself, he has a good grasp of the things you want to see. He is an excellent driver and guide; knows all the best spots to view the sights, the vineyards and wonderful places for lunch, as well as being good company. In looking at various small group tours on the web, Sean was not that much more expensive for the two of us as compared to going with a larger group. We were very pleased that we contacted Sean over the internet a few weeks before leaving home; he responded quickly via email, said he was available for the two days and confirmed the price. We had a great two days.

Thank FunTimes030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 4 Cape Town Day Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to 4 Cape Town Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing