We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our only disappointment in Cape Town”

The Roundhouse Restaurant
Ranked #80 of 1,142 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Steeped in over 300 years of history, the former guard house, tea room, hotel and the hunting lodge of Lord Charles Somerset has been elegantly restored with the charm and sophistication of the Grand Old Cape. The style of cuisine at The Roundhouse is uncomplicated, contemporary French, inspired by seasonal ingredients and paired with one of the finest boutique wine collections in South Africa.
New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Our only disappointment in Cape Town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We started by thinking that this highly recommended restaurant was trying too hard to be precious rather than good. Wine list was actually a bit short for Cape Town, but the recommended wine was excellent. Food was uneven in quality.

Restaurant was very loud. Some heavy curtains on the walls would absorb some of that.

Major problem: We were seated by the door to the toilets -- which was an outside door. We were aware of each guest's toilet use as we were greeted with a blast of cold air. After we complained, the waitstaff would rush to shut the door quickly, and were very nice about it. HOWEVER: Short Term - Offering a different table would have been better. I would have asked but didn't realize there were empty tables inside. Long Term (like now -- ask when you reserve if this is done): A sheet of clear windproofing could cover then part of the porch that allows the wind. Many restaurants use these to make patios usable in cool weather. Easy fix, and shows a lack of concern for guests comfort that it hasn't been done.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    165
    62
    33
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Wonderful food - Have been there twice as my friend's wedding was held there. Great scenery also. The only grumble I heard was that the car park isn't great, and is on a slope.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“blown away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Hotel booked us a cab to get here... $5 for a Porsche Panamera cab ride, this is definitely South Africa.
Setting is intimate and romantic, great views over the bay, service is the best we've seen in South Africa (which is usually excellent) .
Tasting menu was exquisite, waiters and sommelier very knowledgeable and amiable.
Very fancy place for a fraction of NY prices. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank newyork_european
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
177 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Taste Explosion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner with friends, chose the wine pairing menu. Not cheap, but WOW ! Every dish was an explosion of taste and colour, coupled with perfect wine choices. The service was perfect. Don't expect much decor, but magnificent food, well prepared and beautifully presented

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBabeSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Sublime food in a historic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The first thing you notice is that The Roundhouse is round, with a circular inner sanctum which extends out to the wider terrace, which is enclosed in the winter. Nestled in the hills above Camps Bay the views across both the mountains and the hills are outstanding.

As it was our first visit we headed for the tasting menu, with paired wines. Amuse bouche of cauliflower cheese mousse and dried fish soon had us under way. Each of the tasting courses are small enough that you can enjoy each one whilst getting a real feel for what the kitchen and the resident chefs are capable of. From the beetroot carpaccio, sliced thinly, to the 'winter salad' with both pickled and preserved vegetables presented as an individual work of art.

The paired wines were well chosen and varied in both source and grape variety, the pairing didn't just include wine, as a lovely deep ale partnered a melt-in-the mouth slow cooked ox tongue. The Banana soufflé presented with caramel ice cream in the centre, created a divine yet light dessert. Although the views and location are good, this is a restaurant where it is all about the food. Put yourselves in the hands of the staff and enjoy

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NickandEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roundhouse Restaurant also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Roundhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing