We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashanti Lodge Green Point
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Internet reachs the rooms

The crew is outstanding

Bathrooms and rooms are very clean

Very modern

Location is near to the waterfront, sea point and camps bay

Breakfast is cheap and honest

Travel Center helps the tourists with lots of activities

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EloiPepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review... we do try hard, so it is always nice when it is noticed.
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    75
    23
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
40
58
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here after staying at a hostel on long street so this hostel was definitely a lot more quite. However my boyfriend and I are not the party type at all but even this place was a bit to quite for Us. The hostel itself is nice, clean. Spacious etc but that's all I can really say. The guy who looked after us who is on the day shift is really nice and gave us some great tips and advise but the hostel is really lacking some umph!! It's hard to put your finger on but I guess it was just a bit boring. If they livened it up a bit then maybe it would be a better place to stay. I wouldn't say DON'T stay there but just be prepared for a very quite and unexciting stay. Also it would have been nice to have been told about the free pancake mix but we only discovered this on the last day after purchasing 2 breakfasts.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBear87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sure that after staying at a hostel in Long Street, we were much quieter but we do acknowledge that and it certainly seems to work for most people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed at Ashanti Green Point on monday and tuesday and very impressed with the service and the lodge from the beginning. Check in is usually from 1pm, i arrived in cape town early and was allowed to check in at 11am. Got a tv remote (which i didnt get a previous backpackers lodge). The rooms are very clean with modern touches everywhere. White linen on beds which was an absolute treat as this gives a hotel feel to the property. I forgot to pack towels and had 2 towels in my room and this to me was the very special touch. I will definately recommend Ashanti Lodge to everyone and will surely be back. A big thank you to all the staff for their hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seemonstertjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you "Seemonstertjie". It is so great for us when those extra little touches are recognised by our guests. I am sure that we will see you back again soon :-)
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The safety and security were first class, as was the hospitality of all the staff, who would go out of their way to help. They would book tours etc for you. The place was cleaned every day and the facilities were excellent. As a 70 year old, first time backpacker with a suitcase, I had quite an experience. The Lodge is in walking distance of the beach, shops, eateries and watering holes. I found the beds comfortable and, in general, a very vibrant, friendly atmosphere the whole time I was there. Set back off the main road, it is quiet, except for party nights, which happen now and again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickjcoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks for your review - we do try to cater for young AND old (er) so I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful hostel,rooms are spacious and clean. Great beds to sleep in. Staff go out of their way to help you. Showers and toilets were clean all the time while we stayed there.morning walks were great as it is only five minutes to the park. If one is staying in Cape Town this is the ideal place to stay price is perfect and it is easy to get everywhere. Thank you Ashanti

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank krugerandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review - hopefully see you back again one day!
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed here for four nights after our overland trip from Uganda to South Africa. Great place, friendly staff and nice locatin near he beach. A little further away from the citycentre but still within walkingditance (30 minutes) from the Waterfront, therefur very nice and quiet in the rea.

Room Tip: We chose an ensuite oubleroom but the dorms are just as nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AniqueJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hey there!
Thanks for your comment. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will see you back again one day :-)
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

It's a nice enough place: good location, clean rooms, okay facilities but the service and atmosphere isn't close to the other hostels we stayed at in Cape Town. It has all the right ingredients but just seems to be something lacking. Not a bad plan B.

Room Tip: Get a private room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trickys_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi there
Thanks for your review. It is always interesting hearing different people's perspective on a place because obviously one cannot cater for everyone's taste. We had a Danish couple leave this morning who absolutely LOVED staying with us because it's quiet and they can have a drink on the verandah in peace. We don't have a bar (but you can still get a drink) and we don't have parties yet guests still get an opportunity to meet each other and socialise which is what going to a backpacker hostel is all about - it just doesn't always have to be in a loud, raucous way :-)
Nevertheless, I respect your opinion and perhaps Ashanti Green Point isn't what you were looking for but I am glad that you still see it for what it is. A clean, safe, secure, central, well-run, hospitable backpackers hostel with all the right ingredients :-)
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#11 of 125 in Cape Town Central
500 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
489 reviews
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Never at Home Cape Town
#6 of 125 in Cape Town Central
276 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#9 of 125 in Cape Town Central
502 reviews
A Sunflower Stop
#7 of 125 in Cape Town Central
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashanti Lodge Green Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashanti Lodge Green Point

Property: Ashanti Lodge Green Point
Address: 23 Antrim Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashanti Lodge Green Point 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and super stylish, Ashanti Green Point offers quieter, more private accommodation for the discerning traveller. Green Point is celebrated for its vibrant nightlife, and nearby Sea Point buzzes with shops and restaurants, a historic seafront walkway and secluded beaches. Also within walking distance are the V&A Waterfront, iconic Cape Town Stadium and the city centre itself.Building on the unrivalled experience of Ashanti Gardens, the Green Point lodge shows the same attention to detail with superb facilities, outstanding service and excellent security. Various accommodation options are available, from backpacker dorms to private en-suite bedrooms; all with fluffy white duvets, individual reading lights, personal safes and international plug points. Private rooms also have plasma screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ashanti Lodge Green Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashanti Lodge Green Point Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing