We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point
Ranked #42 of 164 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed here as most of the budget hotels on the V&A were full, and was just so glad we landed here...as it was our best decision. A simple B&B, clean, well-kept rooms coupled with fantastic hosts - Paul and Tania, even Mahi (the cat) made us feel athome plus we also shared a passion for cricket and Indian criciket in particular. They have loads of interesting stories to tell about all their travels, its fascinating, brilliant with information about Cape town and dont get tired explaining and suggesting interesting things to do....on their advice we did the Biscuit Mill Saturday market..and the atmosphere, food and wine there was to die for. The location is awesome too.....facing the bay with a green patch across the hotel where joggers run, dogs play, as you sit and have breakfast (lovingly prepared by the hosts themselves) by the window overlooking the view, time just seems to slow down. The V&A is a 10 minute walk from here, the bus stops are within 100 metres...the red hop-on-hop-off as well as the newly introduced MyCiti buses. Perenegro the restaurant nearby have fab staff and reasonably priced food and beverages..... anyone visiting the restaurant after reading this please say hi to Brian, Sidney and Ivan on the bar, they are amazing fellas. Also close-by La Splendida has a restaurant thats buzzing, weekends they have a cool reggae band playing funky catchy music...one cant help but dance

Room Tip: We were first put up in Room 4 (which is small) on the ground floor...but were later accommodated in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilbur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    37
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
56
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Clean, comfortable and cozy- 3 adjectives to describe my experience at this guesthouse. For a more detailed description- the place has a splendid view of the ocean, a warm and homey interior, good connectivity to Hop on - Hop off busses, just about a mile away from the city centre (walking distance).

The short stay was made more special by its easy-going and hospitable hosts, Paul and Tania. The couple, being avid travellers themselves, engaged freely in interesting conversations and took wonderful care of their guests! I should very much like to stay here again, if I go back to Cape Town ever again! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniaKhosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Shelli and I got there for 2 nights 3-5/9/13..
I decided to go there at the very evening of my proposal to Shelli! (and fortunately she said yes...) we saw the place a couple of days before that, while taking a walk from sea point towards bantry bay, the place looked like such a nice, homey place - and it is!
Paul & Tanya were very nice and helpful. We've decided to hire a car on our last morning, they gave us a good company contact (I think "valued car" or so...) and the car company guy came to the guest house within 45 minutes of our phone call. We took the bigger unit (don't remember it's name), the one that has a full-clear-panoramic view to the ocean, and what a view! great location! The second morning we asked if breakfast can be served at the little balcony outside our room. No problem - Paul & Tanya delivered the food themselves and we enjoyed great food with great view!
We would definitely go there again!
Ofer & Shelli, Israel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OFER K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I am glad I chose to stay at Dolphin Inn for my very first trip to Cape Town. Dolphin Inn is well located, safe, clean, with friendly environment and owners. Breakfast was great and was being prepared and served by the owners themselves (Paul and Tania).

During the brief contacts I had with Paul and Tania, I felt like I was visiting friends I have known for a long time. I felt safe, welcome and appreciated.

Thanks Paul and Tania for your advise, information and good hospitality. Dolphin Inn will definitely be top list for my subsequent Cape Town visits.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ngolwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay in Cape Town. Paul and Tania were great hosts and really were very helpful. They prepare a wonderful made to order breakfast and it is a delight to sit in front of the big window overlooking the ocean! It is in an excellent location and easy walk to city center and on the path of both the Red and Blue city bus lines for tourist travel. I highly recommend this guesthouse!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Dolphin Inn is great for leisure and business travel. Paul & Tania are very friendly and helpful, and their breakfasts are great as well. The amazing location really makes this a special place, being able to watch the dogs at play on the promenade with the bay in the background is really special. After a long day working, being able to walk across the road and be right on the ocean is very refreshing. Some great restaurants are within walking distance and Camps Bay is an easy drive. Very good value for money, this is my first choice for accommodation in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Room with mountain view on top floor is nice and roomy and away from the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja_CIIIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I was in Cape Town for business and Dolphin Inn was great accommodation! It was very clean and the owners were gracious and courteous. There's fast internet and restaurants close by. There's a beautiful view from the breakfast area and it's walking distance from a lovely mall and aquarium and not too far from the city. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Makeda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
La Splendida
La Splendida
#84 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#44 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 973 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mouille Point Village
Mouille Point Village
#50 of 129 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#31 of 164 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apar...
#11 of 164 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point

Property: Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point
Address: 75 Beach Road | Mouille Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, seafront B+B, walking distance to top restaurants, coffee shops, salons, spas and the V+A Waterfront for all your shopping and entertainment needs. Continental and hot breakfast included. Free Wi-Fi. Spectacular views across Table Bay to Robben Island from the living room. Newly renovated luxury suite on the first floor with great views. Spacious bathroom with shower and bath. The open plan design includes a galley kitchen with stove and microwave, a small bar and living room. Sliding doors open onto a covered balcony providing the perfect space for sundowner cocktails or a leisurely breakfast watching the dolphins. Ideal for a romantic getaway or the business traveller who needs some space to work from. Comfortable, spacious accommodation. The Green Point Stadium is less than 700m away! All rooms en-suite with TV and mini bar. Safe and secure area. Beautiful promenade for walkers and runners. Metropolitan Golf course is behind us and the Virgin Active Gym is a quick jog away. Convenient bus access to City Centre, Waterfront and Camps Bay. Cape Town International Convention Centre is a 5 minute drive. Cape Peninsula Technikon and Survival Centre - 5min walk. We can help with car hire, tours and adventure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing