We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home by the Sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point
Ranked #49 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Dolphin Inn for 7 nights in the beginning of Jan 2013. We could not have chosen a better place for our stay in Cape Town. Our hosts Paul and Tania made our stay feel like we were staying in our own house. The big breakfast room is like a living room, and the hosts made a wonderful breakfast for us guests every morning. They also helped us with whatever practicalities we asked them for. The Inn is just at the Atlantic seafront - a wonderful place to walk both in the morning and in the evening. Just a short walk further is the V & A Waterfront - or you can take the local bus just outside the hotel. We had a nice room on the second floor overlooking the Signal Hill. - We would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aroundtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 169 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Pros: Paul was very friendly and welcoming. He was very helpful both in responding to my inquiries prior to check in and in orienting me to the city and surrounding areas during my stay. The main areas of the guesthouse are beautiful, nicely decorated with a great view of the beach. Rooms were clean.

The Cons: The room we had was very small, and the bathroom was tiny (the size of a closet). Our room had no air conditioning, only a ceiling fan. I am not sure if this is the case for other rooms, but I would make sure to inquire about this, especially during summer. Also, you can hear a lot of noise from outside and from other rooms/hallways. Compared to other places I have stayed in around the area, the price (R1000 for two people) seemed a bit high for such a small room and no A/C.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room and AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GatorGirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent a few days at the Dolphin Inn, a week before Christmas. The location right on Beach Road is absolutely superb - especially if you like to go for a jog early n the morning (or any time of the day, for that matter). Paul and Tania are superb hosts - and make a great cooked breakfast - which we enjoyed wth an absolutely brilliant view!!
BUT- it might get a bit loud at times, traffic wise.

Room Tip: If you want the view - ask for a room seafacing (but then accept traffic noise - which does get less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marathon2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

From the warm personal welcome from the innkeeper upon arrival to the equally warm hugs upon departure, our stay at the Dolphin Inn was superb in every respect. Small, informal space with comfortable rooms and interesting guests from multiple nations, it quickly became home away from home for my wife and me.

Home cooked breakfasts to order, innkeepers anxious to assist in any and every way to be sure we enjoyed our visit and clean, comfortable bed rooms...a real find off the beaten path of downtown CapeTown but, easily accessible to town and to sites.

Most highly recommended.

Room Tip: we enjoyed the large, front bedroom--#8. No real street noise nor noise from other guests. Steppe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I had high hopes for the Dolphin Inn after reading other reviews, and was definitely not disappointed. We stayed for 3 nights in Room 8 (sea view room on ground floor) and then a further 2 nights in Room 9 after leaving Cape Town for a few days. We had booked a mountain view room but by chance got upgraded free of charge to the Seaview Suite on the 1st floor.

Location - ideal. Right on the waterfront in a very safe area with several restaurants in walking distance. The V&A waterfront is a 10-15 min walk away (route is all well lit and safe) and the City Sightseeing bus tour has a stop at the lighthouse which is only a 5 min walk away.

Staff - on our first stay, the owners were on holiday and the stand in couple were very friendly and full of tips. We met the owners on our second stay, who were also very friendly, helpful and accommodating. They create a very laid back and welcoming atmosphere.

Rooms - Room 8 was very clean and spacious. It is however close to the communal area and front door, and looks onto Beach Road, so light sleepers should come prepared with earplugs. Room 9 (the suite) was fantastic - lovely view over to Robben Island from the balcony. Both rooms had very comfortable beds.

There is free Wifi throughout the property. Breakfast was included and deserves a mention - selection of cereals etc and a cooked breakfast was also available which was delicious and perfect before a day of sightseeing. There is no secure parking but there is plenty free parking on the road outside.

If we ever get the chance to go back to Cape Town we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I had the large sea view room on the first floor and it was simply magnificent. Lovely space. Great facilities. So homely. Large. Friendly staff...

Seriously I loved this place! What are the other rooms like? The ones without this incredible view? No idea...and my room is only one with it as it's a small property.

Hence no full marks. I can only judge based upon my room and I know mine was the best there.... I also only reserve 5 out of 5 for literally the best. This is damn good and somewhere I would love to stay in again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Dolphin Inn was an absolutely lovely guest house right on the Beach Road promenade in Cape Town. The rooms are charming and impeccably clean. The owners are fantastic! SO welcoming, full of great tips, and very accommodating. Perfect location--5 minute drive to V&A Waterfront, 10 minutes (tops!) to Clifton, Camp's Bay. Wish I could've stayed longer, but will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Ask to see several rooms if they're not full as they vary in size considerably, though all are c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
La Splendida
La Splendida
#85 of 110 in Cape Town Central
205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#41 of 156 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mountview Spa and Guest House
Mountview Spa and Guest House
#58 of 156 in Cape Town Central
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cape Finest Guesthouse
Cape Finest Guesthouse
#47 of 156 in Cape Town Central
105 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#13 of 156 in Cape Town Central
525 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jambo Guest House
Jambo Guest House
#63 of 156 in Cape Town Central
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point

Address: 75 Beach Road | Mouille Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $104 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, seafront Guesthouse, walking distance to top restaurants, coffee shops, salons, spas and the V+A Waterfront for all your shopping and entertainment needs. The Cape Town Stadium is less than 700m away and the CTICC is a 10 minute drive. Continental and hot breakfast included. Free Wi-Fi. Spectacular views across Table Bay to Robben Island from the living room. The air-conditioned luxury suite on the 1st floor features an open plan design with a galley kitchen with stove and microwave, a small bar and living room. Sliding doors open onto a partially covered balcony providing the perfect space for sundowner cocktails or a leisurely breakfast watching the dolphins. Ideal for a romantic getaway or the business traveller who needs some space to work from. Comfortable, spacious accommodation. All standard rooms are en-suite with LED TV, mini bar, tea&coffee facilities, hairdryers, and ceiling fans. One standard is fitted with an aircon. Safe and secure area. Beautiful promenade for walkers and runners. Metropolitan Golf course is behind us and the Virgin Active Gym is a quick jog away. Convenient bus access to City Centre, Waterfront and Camps Bay. Cape Peninsula Technikon and Survival Centre - 5min walk. We can help with car hire, tours and adventure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing