We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING!”

Marco's African Place
Ranked #65 of 1,156 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Excellent Food and Exotic food - Check
Outstanding Service - Check
What more to ask for ehhh!

Finally got to try The famous African Platter with Ostrich, Kudu, Springbok & Impala steaks

Definitely a must try in cape town

Helpful?
1 Thank Kiran_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    137
    45
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
579 reviews
323 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“very entertaining evening”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was an amazing place to listen too excellent african music and to have a fantastic meal. There are many different kinds of african food and a variety of meats on the menu. We tried crocidile tail, wharthog, springbok, kudu, and osterich. All was really good. The music and the dancing was also very entertaining. One of the best nights i had out while in Cape Town. You have to try it. Marco is a great host and one the few places with great service from the staff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arnold s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent impala steak!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

nice atmosphere, busy for dinner, reservation is a must! i had the best impala steak ever, do try it! all waiters are great, quick service, lovely coffee as well!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MihaelaMatei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Excellent service, nice menu selection (had never eaten Nyala before - in fact I had never even heard of it!! (it was excellent!!)) Decor very nice - we went early since we had just flown in & found it to be very satisfactory - did not find ti to be too touristy as prior reviewer alleges, although we were on a quasi holiday, being just a day or two before Christmas, which is not a big group tour seson. Music was excellent and our waiter charming - neighborhood however is a bit sketchy. All in all we were very satisfied.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ObjectiveTruth13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Meant for coach tourist groups”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This place doesn't feel at all local, its clearly catered for the tourist groups that usually travel in coaches and not really catered for all generations. Perhaps this was because I had to gone to Mama Africa's (in long street) the night and had seen a clear difference in the bands. The band in Marcos place used western instruments on African music which completely diluted the music. The singing was average and the whole experience reminded me of some bad cabaret like tourist places I had been subjected to years ago when I was on a coach tour. If you love African music and wanted a real experience , this is NOT the place

  • Visited December 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank renee080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco's African Place also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Marco's African Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing