We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cafe Dijon- excellent food, service and comfort”
Review of Cafe Dijon - CLOSED

Cafe Dijon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Café Dijon is the result of the du Plessis family's extended stay in France from which they brought back the best of everything that they saw to create this French gem back homeThe long leather banquettes, small square tables and bentwood chairs make for a cosy and intimate atmosphere while the long, curved marble-topped bar, mosaic floor, mirrors and 30's art prints add to the French café theme.Tables outside are ideal for a leisurely coffee, glass of wine or a light meal while you indulge in "people-watching" in true Parisien style.
Rumson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cafe Dijon- excellent food, service and comfort”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

the steak is the signature dish and i went to this restaurant twice during my visit to cape town. the first time at the suggestion of a great flight attendant that has to eat in Cape Town and can eat anywhere, and the second simply because it was so good the first time why not. The Dom Pedro whiskey as a dessert/after dinner finish was unique and enjoyable as well. The outside seating for pre-or-post dinner is very comfortable as well, although the overall area is a quiet block.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TommyT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    61
    16
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A lovely mix of France and South Africa”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Cafe Dijon is set in a quiet road in Green Point. It's lovely courtyard is lit with fairy lights and a welcoming fire. The menu is a good combo of traditional French dishes with a strong South African influence. We had the trio of snoek starter which I couldn't recommend highly enough. We enjoyed flavoursome steaks perfectly cooked, authentic cassoulet and the most amazing pavlova. The service is friendly and efficient, the atmosphere fabulous – inside has the feel of a French bistro and a nice buzz, while outside is chilled and magical. And the food is really great value too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SandyCadiz-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere but so-so experience”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

The location is great and the ambiance is nice, however, I had to send back my under cooked fish to the kitchen. The Caesar salad was fantastic.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank maureen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Little bit of special!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

What an awesome restaurant! Tucked away in a charming courtyard. We had dinner and sat outside, which was magical with the fairy lights in the trees! The food was magnificent! And the prices very very affordable.

I can highly recommend this listing.

Helpful?
1 Thank ElizevN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simple & superb”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I'm pretty spoilt when it comes to restaurants - I live in Cape Town, Africa's gourmet capital and home to no less than three of the top ten restaurants in Africa, internationally recognised by the 50 Best Restaurants in the World and highly rater on Trip Advisor. When I accidentally stumbled on this gorgeous little French fusion sanctuary in the city's ultra cool DeWaterkant/ Greenpoint area, I was blown away. The service was understated, warm and professional. The ambiance is perfect for a leisurely dinner and comfortable conversation, an unexpectedly quirky but perfectly appropriate choice of music and a chic urban interior complete the setting. But the real star of the show, as it should be, is the food. The menu offers a rich variety of mostly French dishes inspired by South African cuisine - innovative and truly mouth watering pairings of French classics with Cape Town's sweet, spicy flavours. We LOVED the tasting plates - 3 to 4 variations on a central theme - of snoek, duck and calamari. My best advice is GO HUNGRY :) You'll definitely want space to try the dessert menu - the pavlova is superb and so is the pear and almond tart. Portions are just right and, unusually for Cape Town, the menu is very reasonably priced.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donyale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Dijon also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing