We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lodging and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lawhill Luxury Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent lodging and location”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

In early November 2012 we visited Cape Town and stayed at the Lawhill Apartments. Our suite was well appointed and comfortable, very secure, and with a most responsive staff -- just what we needed after the 15 hour flight from New York. The location was also very convenient, a short walk to the V&A Waterfront restaurants and shops, and close to the Two Oceans Aquarium. Lawhill offered a discount on vouchers for breakfast at the adjacent One and Only Hotel and our meal there was one of the best during a 3 week African trip. Everything about our stay was excellent.

Room Tip: We liked the lower floor which allowed walking out by the canal and through the key-pad gate to reac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    65
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
191
71
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Amazing location , apartments are stunning. Staff are great, very helpful and responsive making us feel very welcomed and valued. You are very close to the Waterfront and also have he one anx only next door. We are lazy so though you have a lovely kitchen we ate out, the shoreline cafe is good for a convenient breakfast and then you are spoilt for choice with great restaurants all outside your door. An all round brilliant base in Cape Town

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annlouise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The problem is if I tell you how amazing this place is then everyone will want to stay here and then they raise the prices,oh well . Our apartment was so luxurious and comfortable that we didn't want to leave. From the minute we arrived the staff at reception went above and beyond to answer any of our questions and arrange all our transportation needs,including airport transfers. We stayed for 8 nights in the 2 bedroom , 2 1/2 bath apartment and had more space than we could ever need.The location is perfect,right next to the One & Only Hotel and a very easy 10min walk to the V & A Waterfront.Security is good,at no time day or night did we feel uncomfortable.The V & A Waterfront has more than enough bars,restaurants and shopping options for everyone.For your groceries try either Woolworths or Pick n Pay and Clicks is good for all your pharmacy needs.You also have easy 5min access to the red/blue sightseeing buses and the aquarium.Your stay also gives you access to a gym/pool for a reasonable fee.They have a quiet policy from 10:00 PM which is nice for a great nights sleep,it was so quiet.The only challenge for us was using the washer/dryer an instruction manual would have been nice. We thought Capetown and the surrounding area was just spectacular,by far one of the nicest cities of the world .The people of South Africa are so warm and welcoming,they go out of their way to make you stay enjoyable.If we are ever in Capetown again we will try and stay at lawhill again,if we can get in and they haven't rasied the prices !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisinycd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Our group of 3 was thrilled to find this great apartment - tons of space, excellent security, conveniently located in walking distance to V&A Waterfront, and so comfortable! Like having your own luxury condo apartment while on vacation! Our 2 bedroom & 2 bathroom suite with a huge balcony overlooking the Waterfront was impeccably decorated with full amenities including wonderfully helpful staff who offered advice and helped us with arranging our sightseeing bookings. We eventually figured out that a rental car was more convenient and driving in Cape Town was relatively easy after getting used to being on the left side of the road. We wished we could have stayed longer to have been able to make use of the full kitchen and laundry! Only issue was that the WiFi was included but a bit spotty.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jh91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the moment we checked in to the very last moment before the checking out, I felt at home.
The apartments as stipulated in the name are very luxurious, stylish and their business is definitely comfort.
During our stay the apartment receptionist did all the necessary arrangement for the various trips we made during our stay. What made this a great stay was the fact that Lawhill are very central and has a great view of the mountains and the ocean.
The One and Only downstairs just made our cocktails easier to get to, just the way we like it.
I would recommend these apartments any time of the day.
Living the high life with more than a dash of style and comfort indeed.

Room Tip: Arrangements to hire a rental should be done before the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christoff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent three nights at the law hill in October and could have easily extended that to several more, in fact on my next holiday to South Africa it will involve a seven night stay. Great service from the concierge to the housekeeping team. The quality of the accommodation is very high end , loads of room and the beds are to die for. You can easily spoil yourself with a night in either cooking yourself or utilising the vast delivery service.
Close to all the excitement of the waterfront and or town. I would recommend the aquarium cafe's ice coffee walking to or away from the waterfront.

Excellent, A1 loved the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morpheustravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

First time visiting Cape Town and there were 5 of us. I had been looking for a reasonably priced place to stay and glad that I picked Lawhill's service apartment. We booked the 3 bedrooms apartment and had a good stay. The location is GREAT, you can walk to the shopping mall and many different restaurants at the Waterfront. The Aquarium is also just 5 mins walk away from the apartment.

The apartment is very well equipped and the furnishing is very modern and neat. If you don't feel like to go too far for breakfast, the buffet breakfast at One & Only is a good option. You can also order grocery and food and have it delivered to you. However if you arrived town late, you better ask the staff at the apartment to get the grocery shopping done for you before you arrive. We checked in at the apartment past 10:30pm the first night. The staff told us we could order meals delivery but the fact is, none of the restaurants are open after 11pm so we had to go to bed hungry the first night.

There is free wifi internet in the apartment but it is slow. If you are thinking of doing photos upload or download emails, it can take a long time. I think that is probably the only thing that we're not so satisfied with the stay.

Staffs are all very friendly and helpful. They offer good recommendation for food and activities. However their website may not work so well and I'd suggest anyone who make a reservation online to follow up with an email or phone call. When I made my reservation online, it was shown that the room was available on the dates that I want but when I called their reservation office, I was told that some of the dates, the room I want was indeed not available. Luckily I changed the travel date and we did get into the 3 bedrooms apartment without any problem.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend people to stay in Lawhill Apartment if they ever visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angieyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,432 reviews
0.0 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,469 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#43 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,157 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#21 of 106 in Cape Town Central
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawhill Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawhill Luxury Apartments

Property: Lawhill Luxury Apartments
Address: Dock Road Bluff | Marina Residential, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lawhill Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lawhill Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawhill Luxury Apartments Hotel Cape Town Central
Lawhill Luxury Apartments Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing