We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best introduction to Cape Town”
Review of Underberg House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Underberg House
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best introduction to Cape Town”
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Sadly we only had 3 days in Cape Town after a family reunion in J'burg but The Underberg Guest House exceeded our expectations in every way. It's location is terrific with most of the best restaurants within walking distance. The owners are extremely friendly and welcoming. The rooms are lovely and beds very comfortable. We will definitely be returning to Cape Town and of course hope to stay at The Underberg. We can highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaScales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    49
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
72
344
50
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halden, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Are you going to Cape Town I would strongly recommand this guest house to stay. It's clean and have walking distance to Waterfront. I would like to go back sometime.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninabk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We were in Cape Town for a conference and the host and hostess were just the best. The welcome and the attention we received was outstanding. The breakfasts were a delight and our beds were comfortable. I don't usually do these tripadvisor things but this was one where the guest house and the staff thoroughly deserves a note. Ian

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishinn35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2011

When one wants to leave KZN for a quick break, Cape Town is where one goes. When one truly wants to feel like they are on holiday, but with the comforts and ambience of home, The Underberg Guest House is the only option!
Not only are the rooms stunning with olde - colonial high ceilings, matched with crisp lovely linen (one might never get out of bed) and beautiful facilities, but the owners, Anne and Bruce, will look after you like you are old friends or perhaps royalty.
You only have to ask, and your hosts will do anything in their power to make it happen.
On your decent from your oh -so comfortable room to breakfast, Anne is there to greet you and ask how you would like your eggs. Freshly cooked by a skillful hands, the breakfasts are to die for.
What more can one say, other than I certainly had the very best holiday Ive had in a long time! Thank you Anne and Bruce for making that happen!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genes32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Underberg Guest House. We had a light-flooded, stylish (in the sense of “less is more”, which we very much enjoy) room with a nice bathroom. Unfortunately we didn’t have the time to use the amazing bathtub, so we have to come back. From the upstairs balcony you have a wonderful view on the Table Mountain. But it all comes down to the people running the place and Anne and Bruce are very nice, down to earth and affectionate people. You can not wish for more.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerJaCl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Anne and Bruce are very gracious hosts and a credit to their delightful establishment which exudes an old world charm that is missing in large hotels. The wonderful personal service made me feel very welcome with my first visit to Cape Town.
My single room had double aspect windows and a very comfortable bed with beautifully crisp linen sheets. Also there is a balcony running off the main hallway upstairs which was just great to sit there in the afternoon out of the strong sun.
I had the best omelette with fresh fruit in the lovely breakfast room and the little bar is very cosy.
It is a 5 minute drive down to the city centre or about a 10 min walk, but a 20 min walk back up in the heat!! I lost weight doing it.
Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 255060Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2011

What a wonderful place and great hosts. I would totally recommend this B&B. The breakfast was great and the rooms had a nice cozy feel. The location was very easy to find and in the right location were we wanted to be.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanHawthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,393 reviews
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
990 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parker Cottage
#1 of 155 in Cape Town Central
1,016 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 155 in Cape Town Central
239 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apar...
#7 of 155 in Cape Town Central
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underberg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underberg House

Property: Underberg House
Address: 6 Tamboerskloof Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Underberg Guest House)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Underberg House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Underberg provides warm and hospitably service. All our colonial rooms are super comfortable with modern en-suite bathrooms. For further comfort, each room is equipped with a flat screen TV with satelite chanels, Air conditioning and heating , overhead ceiling fan, American plantation shutters, tea/coffee facility, hairdryer, free toiletries, fitted carpet, safe, white cotton percale sheets, down duvets in winter and cotton blankets inthe summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Underberg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Underberg House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing